Ten UAB students were honored at the annual banquet of the Engineering Council of Birmingham (ECOB) Tuesday night. Two of those students—Grant Alexander and Emma Latham—were honored as ECOB’s UAB Graduate Student and Undergraduate Student of the Year, respectively.

ECOB Engineering Students of the Year

Emma Latham (BME)
John Romano (CCEE)
Haley Jared (ECE)
Sharon Uwanyuze (MSE)
Matthew Arnwine (ME)

Grant Alexander (BME)
Mohamed Gallow (CCEE)
Anthony Winchester (ECE)
Kristin Hardin (MSE)
Bing Wang (ME)

The ten students were named ECOB’s Undergraduate and Graduate Students of the Year from each of the five engineering departments at UAB, with Alexander and Latham being selected as the school’s overall winners.

“If you had asked me to guess which of our students would be nominated for student of the year, I would certainly have guessed the engineers who we see here tonight, and I can assure you they had strong competition,” said SOE Dean Iwan Alexander, Ph.D., during Tuesday night’s banquet. “These students have distinguished themselves academically and in various other ways so that they truly stand out. To be selected from this group to represent the School of Engineering is an extremely high honor.”

ECOB Undergraduate of the Year

emma webEmma Rose Latham

  • 3.91/3.9 GPA
  • Recipient of numerous scholarships, including the UAB Collegiate Honors Scholarship, UABTeach Merit Scholarship, and Dupuis Scholarship, among others.
  • President, Society of Women Engineers; Vice President, Engineers Without Borders; Member, Tau Beta Pi and the Biomedical Engineering Society.
  • Active in Research with UAB’s Engineering and Innovative Technology Development (EITD)

ECOB Graduate Student of the Year

Grant AlexanderBME Alexander Grant web

  • Recipient of the Cardiovascular Pathophysiology T32 Scholarship and an Alabama EPSCoR Graduate Research Scholar
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute Med-Grad Fellow and Finalist for the Featheringill Young Investigator Award
  • Interned with Open Biosystems, Thermo Fisher Scientific, and NASA
  • Served as Secretary and President of the Biomedical Engineering Graduate Students Organization (BMEGS)