johnson1Ophelia Johnson, a junior majoring in biomedical engineering, was one of two UAB students to receive Barry Goldwater Scholarship Awards for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Out of more than 1,100 applicants, Johnson is one of 283 students nationally to receive the award and one of only 63 engineering majors. She is one of only five UAB engineering students to be named a Goldwater Scholar.

“This is a very prestigious award and a great honor for Ophelia,” says Timothy Wick, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering. “We have been fortunate to have students from our department receive this award in previous years, and Ophelia is very deserving to be part of that distinguished group. Knowing the amount of effort she puts into her work makes me even more proud that she is getting this recognition.”

School of Engineering
Goldwater Scholars
David Murphy (2003)
Ashley Roach (2006)
Larry Lawal (2008)
Ophelia Johnson (2014)

Honorable Mention
Charlotte Kent (2012)

Johnson is joined on the list of 2014 Goldwater Scholars by UAB chemistry major Bliss Chang, as well as by chemistry major Luke McClintock, who received honorable mention.

To date, UAB has had 19 Goldwater Scholars.