45 engineers group

In celebration of the School of Engineering's 45th anniversary, alumni and friends gathered at the close of Engineers Week to honor "45 Engineers Making a Difference."

IMG 0003The honorees were selected from nominees that spanned a wide range of career choices and ages--from high achieving recent graduates to alumni with decades of notable service in their fields. "When I look around the room, one thing that strikes me is the diversity of the group being honored here tonight," said SOE Dean Iwan Alexander, Ph.D., in his remarks at the banquet. "I think it's indicative of who we are as a school and as a university that people from all different backgrounds and areas of interest are able to find a place here and an environment that provides them the tools they need to achieve their very best. And those of you who are honored tonight are certainly evidence of that."

In addition to the 45 honorees, Alexander formally announced the creation of the Ed Segner, Ph.D. Endowed Scholarship, and he recognized current SOE graduate student Ophelia Johnson as an "Engineer Destined to make a difference." Johnson graduated with a degree in biomedical engineering and is currently pursuing a master of engineering in design and commercialization. She was also recently named a 2016 Marshall Scholar, one of only 40 students nationwide to receive that honor.

IMG 0096"This is something I wish I could do on a weekly basis," said Alexander when announcing the Segner Scholarship. "These scholarships mean so much to our students, and it allows us to attract students like Ophelia who might not have been able to come to UAB without that assistance. When you give to one of these scholarships in any amount, you are making a lasting difference in a student's life."

The 45 honorees join a distinguished group alumni that includes 40 Engineers Making a Difference, who were honored in 2011.

45 Engineers Making a Difference

program cover200Click on the image above to read bios of each of the 45 honorees.Zaineb Ahmad
Kenneth Banasiewicz
Kristie Barton
Mark Simpson Berry
Uday Bhate
Andre Bittas
Donny Burke, Ph.D.
Shunna Cannon
Nancy Fouad Carey
Shirley Clark, Ph.D.
Will Clem
J. Sam Davis, Jr.
James Dobbs, Ph.D.
Zoe Dwyer, Ph.D.
Bob Edwards
Clarence Fairer, III
Glenn Fleisig, Ph.D.
Wendy Gilbreath
Grant Harwell
Thomas Alan Hill
Randy Horton, Ph.D.
Tonga Hosch
Kelly Huffstetler
Rusgy Hyde
Denise Jefferies
Glenn Jones
Bolaji Kukoyi
Nathan Lovett, Jr.
Jim Meads
Joe Meads
Shelia Montgomery Mills
Ricky Miskelley
Fred Molz, Ph.D.
Katie Mowry, Ph.D.
Gary Nichols
Joo Ong
Jeanne Otts
Abhay Pandit, Ph.D.
Daniel Retzer
Doug Rigney, Ph.D.
Gary Savage
Heather Smith Sawyer
Jason Stewart
Neel Varshney, M.D.
Robert Whatley, Jr.