The Office of Academic Engagement and Global Citizenship is excited to announce the 2014-2015 class of UAB Faculty Fellows in Engaged Scholarship. Representing five schools plus the College of Arts and Sciences, this is an academically diverse group of innovative UAB educators:

  • Bryan Breland, Assistant Professor, Health Services Administration, School of Health Professions
  • Henna Budhwani, Assistant Professor, Health Care Organization and Policy / Sparkman Center for Global Health, School of Public Health
  • Cecilia Cheon, Instructor, Pediatric Dentistry, School of Dentistry
  • Jessica Dallow, Associate Professor, Art and Art History, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Cassandra Ellis, Assistant Professor, English, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Laurel Hitchcock, Assistant Professor, Social Work, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Christina Barger Hurst, Assistant Professor and Interim Program Director, Genetic Counseling Program, School of Health Professions
  • Pamela Sterne King, Assistant Professor, History, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Tondra Loder-Jackson, Associate Professor, Human Studies, School of Education
  • Erika Hille Rinker, Assistant Professor, Foreign Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Anne Zinski, Assistant Professor, Infectious Diseases, School of Medicine

The Faculty Fellows in Engaged Scholarship program is a one-year fellowship structured around a series of workshops exploring theories, implementation strategies, assessment, and the integration of service learning across disciplines. Each Fellow will develop a new course or redesign an existing service-learning course using information learned through the collaborative workshops and one-on-one support. Upon completion of the program, each fellow will receive a service learning enhancement grant of $1,500 to support course development.

More information about the Faculty Fellows in Engaged Scholarship