Research Resources

Office of the Vice President for Research & Economic Development (OVPRED)

Leadership for all administrative research units serving the research enterprise at UAB. OVPRED oversees Core Facilities, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, and Institutional Review Board.

Integrated Research Administration Portal (IRAP)

Electronic submission of funding applications and compliance forms for future research initiatives.

Research Data Management

UAB investigators will be required to submit data management plans (DMPs) with grant proposals and insure that copies of publications and the associated data are deposited as required by the granting agency.

Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

The nexus for UAB innovation, entrepreneurial educational models, applied research, and management of intellectual property.

Funding Sources and Grant Opportunities

Presentations and general information related to effective grant writing.

Office of Postdoctoral Education

UAB is committed to the development and success of outstanding postdoctoral scientists.

Conflict of Interest Review Board (CIRB)

Charged with the ongoing development of policies and procedures related to conflicts of interest in sponsored research, review of disclosures of financial interests submitted by investigators, and the development of conflict of interest management plans.


The Ingalls/Alumni Award is presented annually to a full-time regular UAB faculty member who, throughout his/her career at UAB, has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to teaching. To receive the Ingalls/Alumni Award, the faculty must be a former recipient of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and have served UAB for 20 or more years as a full-time regular faculty member.

Nominations are now open. The final date for nominations is Wednesday, June 6, 2018.

Past Recipients

2016 – Robert Centor
2015 – Joseph G. Van Matre
2014 – Pauline Jolly
2013 – Gregg Janowski
2012 – Alan Eberhardt
2011 – Robin Foley
2010 – Charles Watkins
2009 – Peter Anderson
2008 – Ferris J. Ritchey
2007 – Rosalia N. Scripa
2006 – S. Jean O'Neal

Back to Top