Research Resources

Office of the Vice President for Research & Economic Development (OVPRED)

Leadership for all administrative research units serving the research enterprise at UAB. OVPRED oversees Core Facilities, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, and Institutional Review Board.

Integrated Research Administration Portal (IRAP)

Electronic submission of funding applications and compliance forms for future research initiatives.

Research Data Management

UAB investigators will be required to submit data management plans (DMPs) with grant proposals and insure that copies of publications and the associated data are deposited as required by the granting agency.

Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

The nexus for UAB innovation, entrepreneurial educational models, applied research, and management of intellectual property.

Funding Sources and Grant Opportunities

Presentations and general information related to effective grant writing.

Office of Postdoctoral Education

UAB is committed to the development and success of outstanding postdoctoral scientists.

Conflict of Interest Review Board (CIRB)

Charged with the ongoing development of policies and procedures related to conflicts of interest in sponsored research, review of disclosures of financial interests submitted by investigators, and the development of conflict of interest management plans.


Nominations are now being accepted for 2017 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award. Nominations must be submitted by October 25, 2017.

To be eligible for this prestigious annual award, an individual must be a full-time, part-time, or emeritus member with a primary or secondary appointment of the faculty of the Academic Health Center, or a University Professor who has:

  • Advanced the frontiers of science or otherwise made a significant contribution to the health of people, or
  • Made an outstanding contribution to the Academic Health Center through education, research, or public service.

Nominations for faculty in the Schools of Dentistry, Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, and Public Health, including Departments of the Joint Health Sciences, are welcome.

Nominations packets should include:

  1. a brief letter of nomination from the person submitting the nomination, and
  2. a current curriculum vitae of the nominee.

It is requested that nomination packets be in an electronic format and submitted via email to Linda Piteo, DFL Facilitator, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Hardcopy nominations may be submitted to Linda Piteo, AB 374, +0103.

The recipient will receive a $5,000 award and will be the keynote speaker at the DFL reception to be held in their honor in the fall.

Information related to the Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award can be obtained by calling Linda Piteo at extension 4-9438 or by emailing her at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Past Recipients

Back to Top