Mentorship Awards 2016Congratulations to the 2016 Mentorship Award winners: (front low, from left) Lisa Schwiebert, Candace Floyd, Linda Overstreet Wadiche, Jaqueline Moss, Elizabeth Brown, Yabing Chen, Eugenia Kharlampieva, (back row, from left) Jeffrey Engler, Deek Cunningham, William Geisler, Amit Gaggar, Jacques Wadiche, Stuart Frank and Michael Wyss. Graduate School Dean Lori McMahon is pictured on the far right of the back row. Not pictured: Susan Bellis. (Photo by Hardy W. Moore)Fifteen faculty members were honored April 20 at a ceremony recognizing the University of Alabama at Birmingham's outstanding mentors. The 2016 Graduate School Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentorship Ceremony drew more than 120 people to the Hill Student Center Ballroom to celebrate the honoree's achievements.

Dr. Molly Carnes of the University of Wisconsin-Madison delivered a keynote address on the importance of mentorship, and Graduate School Dean Lori McMahon and Associate Dean of Graduate Biomedical Sciences David Schneider presented the awards. Award winners were given personalized plaques as well as memory books that contain the letters their mentees and colleagues wrote to nominate them for the honor.

Congratulations to all the 2016 excellent mentors:  

  • Susan Bellis, Ph.D.
    Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

  • Elizabeth Brown, Ph.D.

  • Yabing Chen, Ph.D.

  • Deek Cunningham, M.S.
    Occupational Therapy

  • Jeffrey Engler, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean, Graduate School

  • Candace Floyd, Ph.D.
    Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

  • Stuart Frank, M.D.

  • Amit Gaggar, M.D., Ph.D.

  • William Geisler, M.D.

  • Eugenia Kharlampieva, Ph.D.

  • Jacqueline Moss, Ph.D.

  • Lisa Schwiebert, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean, Postdoctoral Education

  • Jacques Wadiche, Ph.D.

  • Linda Overstreet Wadiche, Ph.D.

  • J. Michael Wyss, Ph.D.
    Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology
Information about the call for 2017 nominations will be posted at when they are open (in fall 2016).