Nine graduate students were awarded the 2020 UAB National Alumni Society Dean’s Scholarship for the Fall 2020 semester. The $500 scholarship recognizes students for their excellent academic performance and outstanding leadership qualities as a UAB graduate student.

This year, the Graduate School received more than 70 complete scholarship applications. While all of the applicants showed academic excellence, strong leadership skills and a passion for community, the nine recipients stood out above the rest for their unfailing tenacity in the pursuit of knowledge.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2020 UAB National Alumni Society Dean’s Scholarship!

Scholarship recipients:

Iyinoluwa Victoria Babarinde – Master of Public Health

Blake Beaton – Master of Science in Criminal Justice

Eddie Lee Groom – Executive Master of Science in Healthcare Administration and Master of Science in Healthcare Informatics

Mikal Hamin Hayes – Master of Engineering with a concentration in Information Engineering Management

Iesha Jackson – Master of Public Administration

Joseph Palmer – PhD Biology

Tandy L. Dolin Petrov – PhD Educational Studies of Diverse Populations with a concentration in Pedagogical Studies

Samuel Phillips – Master of Arts in English

Laura Worley – Doctor of Physical Therapy