UAB Graduate School hosted its 2018 3 Minute Thesis competition Oct. 16 at the Hill Student Center Alumni Theater. There were 10 finalists in the Doctoral and three finalists in the Master’s competition. After much deliberation, the judges selected the top two competitors for the Master's and the top two for the Doctoral. The third place, or People's Choice, was chosen by the audience.

3 Minute Thesis logo.

The first place winner in the Doctoral Competition received $1,000. She will also go on to represent UAB at the 3MT regional competition at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools in 2019. The second place winner received $750 and People's Choice received $500. The first place winner in the Master's Competition received $100; second place received $75; and third place received $50.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 3MT at UAB.

Doctoral Competition: 1st place – Kristin Olson; 2nd place – Michael Schultz; People's Choice – Makenzie Callahan

Master's Competition: 1st place – Gabriel Okafor; 2nd place – Tandy Dolin Petrov; 3rd place – Gabriel Okafor