UAB's dynamic living and
learning environment inspires and nurtures achievement, social responsibility and enterprise.




remarkable students


UAB's highly motivated students examine, master and expand traditional knowledge in the classroom, lab, field and communities they serve. They include Rhodes, Marshall, Clinton, Fulbright Goldwater, Gilman and Truman scholars, national champions for Mock Trial, Ethics Bowl, Bioethics Bowl and winners of three consecutive national titles at the largest collegiate financial portfolio competition.

Alpha Phi Alpha 2013 UAB's Iota Nu chapter is named the National College Chapter of the Year.
National Dental Association Foudation/ Colgate 2013 Stephen Greene, DDS, postdoctoral trainee in UAB's Institute of Oral Health research, receives the Dr. Clifton O. and Lois Doyle Dummet Award.
Beckman Scholars 2013 Junior biology major Roxanne Lockhart and junior Bliss Chang, chemistry and biology major, received the highly competitive grants for undergraduate researchers.
Bloomberg Aptitude Test 2013 Senior math major Kiersten Engel ranked among the top 100 international scorers.
Varilux® Optometry Student Bowl™  2013 Optometry student David Zimmerman tied for first place.
John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship 2013 Graduate biology student Elizabeth Bevan won the one-year fellowship from the National Sea Grant College Program to work in Washington, D.C.
Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship 2013   Senior Camille Turner, a Chinese language and culture major, and art student Alyssa Prock were selected to study in Taipei, Taiwan.
America’s Top TA 2013   Teaching assistant Megan Sugrue was one of three nationwide to receive this award.
DENTSPLY/Caulk Competition 2013 Graduate biology student Maria Kuzynski won first place in the basic science category for her original research.
3M Occupational Health and Safety Scholarship program 2013  Megan Moore, a graduate student in environmental health sciences, is one of four students selected nationwide for academic achievement.
Volpe Prize 2013 Resident Jennifer Bain, D.M.D., received the prize for the best clinical research in periodontology by students in dentistry.
NASA Alabama Space Grant Consortium 2013 Carrie Schindler, a doctoral student in materials science and engineering, was awarded its graduate fellowship.
Japanese Exchange and Teaching Program   Riley Bowden, a University Honors Program student, was selected for this international grass-roots exchange program.
Redefining Investment Strategy Education 2013 UAB Green and Gold Fund, a student-led financial fund, wins its third consecutive international championship.
International Emory Global Health Case Competition 2013 Team UAB wins second consecutive title.
Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship 
2013 Neuroscience major Ameen Barghi, in UAB’s Early Medical School Acceptance  and Science and Technology Honors programs, and Miranda Collier, a junior biochemistry major in the University Honors Program, are the 16th and 17th UAB students to be named Goldwater Scholars. 
Presidential Management Fellowship   Rachel Hicks and Jennifer Baldwin were selected for two-year fellowships to work within the federal government.
UNCF/MERCK Scholarship 2013 Biology major and McNair Scholar Jarvis Johnson and UAB Science and Technology Honors Program students Olayode Babatunde and Maurice Asouzu are three of 15 chosen nationally for this award.
Afya Bora Fellowship in Global Health Leadership   Olivia Bahemuka, a doctor of nursing practice student, is one of 20 health professionals to receive the fellowship to prepare them for managing health programs in African countries.
Teach for America 2013 Biology Scholars Program students Meghan Ange and Amber Hill are the 12th and 13th UAB students to earn this distinction.
William Jefferson Clinton Scholars 2013 Yoonhee Ryder, a biology and anthropology student in the University Honors Program, and Leah Berkabile, a biology and international studies major in the Experiential Learning Scholars Program, will attend the American University in Dubai.
Alpha Lamba Delta Graduate Fellowship 2013 Mallick Hossain, a 2011 Goldwater Scholar and Rhodes Scholar finalist, and Raam Venkatesh, a senior in the UAB Early Medical School Acceptance Program and University Honors Program, were awarded two of the 23 national scholarships given.
Alpha Lamba Delta Scholarship   Shejuti Paul received its Trow scholarship for undergraduates.
Cultural Experiences Abroad 2013 Senior Celeste Stuart, a UAB Experiential Learning Scholars Program honor student, wins a scholarship to study at the University of Westminster in London, England. 
Helen Keller Fellowship 2013 Mechele Mosley, a graduate student in optometry, is one of four selected nationally for this award and the fifth from UAB to be chosen in recent years. 
Pi Kappa Phi 2013 Rachel Rosales, a student in the University Honors and the Early Medical School Acceptance Program programs, was awarded a fellowship for graduate studies