2016 Designated Holidays

Friday, January 1, 2016

(1) New Year's Day (Observed)

Monday, January 18, 2016

(1) Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, May 30, 2016

(1) Memorial Day

Monday, July 4, 2016

(1) July 4th

Monday, September 5, 2016

(1) Labor Day

Thursday/Friday, November 24/25, 2016

(2) Thanksgiving Holidays

Monday, December 26, 2016*

(1) Christmas Day (Observed)

Monday, January 2, 2017*

(1) New Year's Day (Observed)

*In addition to the above designated holidays, UAB will also close Friday, Dec. 23, 2016, and Friday, Dec. 30, 2016, to provide employees additional time with their families. Click here for more information on the additional holidays. Click here for FAQs about the additional holidays.

Regular full-time employees receive eight designated holidays and three personal holidays this year (as stated above, UAB will also close on Friday, Dec. 23, 2016, and Dec. 30, 2016).

Due to special requirements of the Hospital, UAB Police Department, and UAB Call Center employees, the holiday policy is somewhat different from the regular full time employees.  Instead of eight designated and three personal holidays, Hospital, UAB Police Department and UAB Call Center employees receive 11 personal holidays.  Part-time employees accrue holidays on a prorated basis.  These holidays may be scheduled at any time during the year with the supervisor's approval.