Microsoft update message changing for Desktop customers

Desktop Services customers will see a new popup box on their computers when it is time to reboot for a Microsoft update.

The new popup box, which will look like the screenshot below, will pop up every eight hours until you restart your computer, or the computer restarts itself after 24 hours.

MicrosoftPopup v3

Unlike the previous popup notice about the pending reboot, computer users can hide the new message.

If you do not hide it, it will close on its own in 15 minutes, then pop up again in eight hours.

Windows updates are typically done on the third Tuesday of the month, unless there is an emergency update.
Last modified on January 03, 2018