SlideShow retreatV2
THE only UAB research retreat to offer a Free campus-wide opportunity for UAB neuroscientists and trainees to share their work and foster new collaborative endeavors!

Meeting registration, lodging and meals are free to CNC members and affiliates! 

Registration is closed

Thursday  April 9th
8:00 am Registration - Atrium
9:00 am Welcome/State of the CNC Address
Session I Neural Circuits and Excitability
9:15 am Jianguo Gu, M.B., Ph.D.
Professor of Anesthesiology
9:35 am Rita Cowell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
9:55 am Lawrence Sincich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Vision Sciences
10:15 am Trainee TBD
10:30 am Break
Session II Metabolic Crosstalk between the CNS and the Periphery
10:45 am Inga Kadisha, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology
11:05 am Ilan Kerman, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
11:25 am Mathew S. Goldberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neurology
11:45 am Trainee TBD
Noon Lunch
Session III Emerging Approaches to Therapy for Human Disease
1:00 pm Amy Willis Amara, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology
1:20 pm Nina Kraguljac, M.D., M.A.
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
1:40 pm Marcas Bamman, Ph.D.
Professor of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology
2:00 pm Trainee TBD
2:15 pm Break
2:30 pm Circuits, Circuit Disorders; Role and future of neuromodulation
 DeLong 0115 Keynote Speaker
Mahlon DeLong, M.D.
William Timme Professor
Department of Neurology
Emory University
3:30 pm Free Time
5:15 pm Evening Activities Begin
5:30 pm Trainee Data Blitz
5:45 pm Poster Session
7:00 pm Dinner
8:30 PM Social TBD
Friday  April 10th
8:00 am Check out & Breakfast
Session IV Neurobiology of Complex Behavior
9:00 am Lynn Dobrunz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
9:20 am Yogesh Dwivedi, Ph.D.
Elesabeth Ridgely Shook Endowed Chair in Psychiatry
9:40 am Jeremy Day, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
10:00 am Trainee
10:15 am  Break
10:30 am Synaptic mechanisms maintaining persistent cocaine craving
 Marina-Wolf 0115 Keynote Speaker
Marina Wolf, Ph.D.
Professor & Chair
Department of Neuroscience
Chicago Medical School
11:45 am Lunch
Session 5 Systems Neurosciece
1:00 pm Kristina Visscher, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
1:20 pm Frank Skidmore, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology
1:40 pm Jarred Younger, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
2:00 pm Trainee - Kimberly Wood, Ph.D.
2:15 pm Awards/Adjourn
 2:30 PM Adjourn

Clover Alabama 4-H Center
892 4-H Road
Columbiana, AL 35051
(205) 669-1364

Special thanks to Vicki Hixon for serving as retreat administrator and to our programming committee: Rita Cowell, Karen Gamble, Rajesh Kana, Lori McMahon & Harrison Walker
CNC Standard Logo 111413