Congratulations to all on the accomplishments below from S. Louis Bridges, Jr., MD, PhD, Division Director, and C. Seth Landefeld, MD, DOM Chairman!domlogo3-color

Bob Rich, MD, PhD and Harry Schroeder, MD, PhD published Clinical Immunology:  Principles and Practice.  4th Edition.Robert Rich, Editor.  Co-Editors:  Thomas Fleisher, William Shearer, Harry Schroeder, Anthony Frew, Cornelia Weyand

Alex Szalai, PhD will be named Director of the Musculoskeletal and Skin Module in the 2nd year SOM curriculum.  Winn Chatham, MD, will continue to be the Clinical Co-Director of the Module. 

Chander Raman, PhD has been selected as Chair of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society Fellowship Committee Study Section for the next 3 years.  Chander will also will serve as a member of the Cellular and Molecular Immunology B Study Section, NIH Center for Scientific Review, from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017.   

At the Department of Medicine Trainee Research Symposium held March 6th, graduate student Amber Buel (Chander Raman, PhD, Mentor) was named Semi-Finalist for the Samuel B. Barker Award for Excellence in Research by a Graduate Student for her presentation entitled, “Therapeutic effectiveness of lithium in EAE is dependent on IFN-g signaling”.   Graduate Student  Kevin Cashman, (Chander Raman, PhD, Mentor) was named Honorable Mention in the same category for his presentation entitled, “The CD5-CK2 signaling axis is critical for B-1a B cell responses to S. pneumoniae”. 

Ken Saag, MD, MSc received Notice of Grant Award on NIAMS Clinical Trial Planning Cooperative Agreement (U34) entitled “Effectiveness of DiscontinuinG bisphosphonatEs Study (EDGE)”

Lou Bridges, MD, PhD and Ken Saag, MD, MSc received notice that the UAB Multidisciplinary Clinical Research Center (MCRC) (1P60 AR064172-01) will be funded.  The MCRC is composed of the components below:

     MCRC Administrative Core  
     S. Louis Bridges, Jr., MD, PhD, Director
     Kenneth G. Saag, MD, MSc, Co-Director
     MCRC Methodology Core
     David T. Redden, PhD, PI
     MCRC Project 1
     Facilitating Treat-to-Target Strategies Using Novel Health Technology with Decision Support. 
     Jeffrey R. Curtis, MD, MS, MPH, PI
     MCRC Project 2
     Adaptive Immune Responses to Gut Microbiota in Juvenile & Adult Spondyloarthritis. 
     Charles O. Elson, MD, PI
     Matthew L. Stoll, MD, PhD, MSCS
2016 Annual State of the Department of Medicine Presentation
DOM Celebrates Five New Endowed Chairs and Professors
Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology Staff Volunteer at UAB Habitat House
Residents Recreate at Annual Camp Dismukes Retreat
Good News Update

CME Conferences

The Department of Medicine research spotlight shines on Ellen Eaton, MD, Assistant Professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases.
EOM Header Adamson
Ask the Chair of the Department of Medicine a Question