The first kidney transplant at the Birmingham VA Medical Center in 50 years was successfully performed on January 5, 2016. The transplant program includes doctors who practice at UAB Hospital and the VA.

Two faculty members in the Division of Cardiovascular Disease, LuFang Zhou, PhD, and Glenn Rowe, PhD, have been selected as 2016 Pittman Scholars in the UAB School of Medicine. This award is bestowed in honor of Dr. James A. Pittman, Jr., the longest-serving dean in our School's history, and provides financial support for research or scholarly enrichment. 

Stuart Frank, MD (Director, Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism) and William Geisler, MD (Infectious Diseases) have been selected as recipients of the Graduate Dean’s Excellence in Mentorship Award for 2016 for their demonstrated commitment to excellent mentorship.

The Department salutes six UAB Infectious Diseases Fellows who are flourishing as authors and presenters:

  • Sonali Advani, MD, MPH, presented the poster “Compliance with Clinical Practice Guidelines for MRSA Bacteremia in Hospitalized Patients and Its Impact on Clinical Outcomes” during 2015 ID Week. Dr. Advani was also selected as one of six in the nation to serve on the newly formed ID Fellows-In-Training Subcommittee for a three-year term, and she served as an interviewer on the IDSA/HIVMA media coverage team for ID Week.
  • Nathan Gundacker, MD, presented the poster “A Novel Board Review Conference Positively Impacting ID Fellow In-Service Scores” during 2015 ID Week.
  • Rachael Lee, MD, presented the poster “Sustained High Level of Healthcare Worker Compliance with Hand Hygiene Policy Using the Patient-As-Observer Approach in the Ambulatory Setting” during 2015 ID Week. Dr. Lee was also published in the Journal of Hospital Medicine this month, “Evaluation of Baseline Corrected QT Interval and Azithromycin Prescriptions in an Academic Medical Center.”
  • Ellen Eaton, MD, was published in Clinical Infectious Diseases, “Immunization Costs and Programmatic Barriers at an Urban HIV Clinic.”
  • Stephen Jordan, MD, PhD, presented the poster “Identification of T-cell Responses that Correlate with Protection against Chlamydia trachomatis Infection” at the International Society for Sexually Transmitted Diseases Research World STI & HIV Congress 2015. Dr. Jordan also recently received a Mentored Development Research Program Grant from the CDC, and he was a presenter at the Chlamydia Basic Research Symposium.
  • Leigh Ann Medaris, MD, first-authored “Cryptococcal osteomyelitis: A Report of 5 Cases and a Review of the Recent Literature” which will be published soon in the journal Mycoses.

The UAB Department of Medicine recently honored the Sickle Cell Disease Association, Central Alabama Chapter, as they completed their $1 million pledge to the Adult Sickle Cell Clinic at UAB. Foundation Executive Director Sharon Lewis and Board President Michael Bell, along with many other committed volunteers, worked tirelessly to fulfill this generous commitment. We are grateful for their support of our concentrated efforts to reach the community and address a major health disparity by offering sickle cell patients and their families a trusted resource for patient care and research.

Coming Next Week to Medical Grand Rounds: Bruce Levy, MD, Professor and Chief of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Division at Harvard University/Brigham and Women’s Hospital will present “Specialized Pro-Resolving Mediators in the Lung: New Mechanisms for Catabasis in the War on Inflammation.”

pdfView this week's slides here.

Do you have Good News to share? If so, please email the Department of Medicine's Director of Communications, Carolyn Walsh.