Ashita Tolwani, MD (Nephrology) has received the 2016 UAB President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching for the School of Medicine. This award recognizes her depth of knowledge in nephrology and critical care, her fairness and accessibility to trainees, and her ability to inspire and mentor others. The Department salutes Dr. Tolwani for this extraordinary achievement.

Ryan Kraemer, MD (General Internal Medicine) received the Southern Society of General Internal Medicine 2016 Clinician Educator Award at the recent SSGIM conference. Ten internal medicine residents also made presentations at the conference: Will Benton, Danisa Clarrett, Morgan Cline, Ross Farris, Rehan Naseemuddin, Mary Kate Reischmann, Blake Smith, Carlie Stein, Thao Tran, and Jeremey Walker. Dr. Walker won the Best Poster award for “’Under Pressure’ to Diagnose Hyperkalemia.”

Sebastian Sattui, MD (PGY-2) provided the “Global Morning Report Case of the Day” on February 18. It was shared with over 1,000 physicians and trainees across the globe as part of the Human Diagnosis Project—a fun and engaging way for physicians to build differential diagnoses and clinical reasoning skills outside the wards. You can download the “Human Dx” app on your smart phone or signup online! Enter “University of Alabama SOM” as your institution, and join the fun!

Mark Dransfield, MD (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care) and the The UAB Lung Health Center have been selected to join the American Lung Association's Airways Clinical Research Centers Network, the nation's largest not-for-profit network of clinical research centers dedicated to asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) treatment research.

Suzanne Oparil, MD
(Cardiovascular Disease) was named Physician of the Year by Castle-Connolly in recognition of her dedication, talents and skills which have improved the lives of countless thousands of people throughout the world. Dr. Oparil follows in the footsteps of Mike Saag, MD, who won last year. 

Monica Baskin, PhD (Preventive Medicine) was awarded Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.’s Community Service Award for Health Promotion at the Founders’ Day Luncheon on February 20. The Health Promotion Award was one of five awards offered by the international organization that recognizes local leaders that are addressing education enrichment, health promotion, family strengthening, environmental ownership, and global impact.

Coming next week to Medical Grand Rounds: Jeanne Marrazzo, MD, MPH, Director of the UAB Division of Infectious Diseases will present, “Life Lessons Learned as a Clinical Trialist: Perspectives on an Interdisciplinary Research Career in Infectious Diseases.” This lecture kicks off the 32nd Annual Trainee Research Symposium. A poster session follows in North Pavilion.

Do you have Good News to share? If so, please email the Department of Medicine's Director of Communications, Carolyn Walsh.

pdfView this week's slides.