DOM at UAB Homecoming Parade 2017Preventive Medicine’s Sharonda Hardy and Laura Gallitz, DOM Chair Dr. Seth Landefeld, 2017 DOM Employee of the Year Paula Dixon, IM Resident Dr. Raj Vachhani, Pulmonary Assistant Professor Dr. Anand Iyer, and DOM Vice Chair for Culture and Diversity Dr. Monica Baskin.The DOM was delighted to showcase our Super Heroes at the 2017 Homecoming Parade! The #DOMobile toured the campus last Friday sharing candy and plenty of Blazer pride, setting the stage for the dramatic gridiron victory over Louisiana Tech.

More Good News for October 11, 2017

The 8th Annual Geriatric Quality Symposium was an exciting celebration of our Geriatric Scholars Program and showcase of our work in geriatric quality. The event was capped off by a panel discussion with nationally-renowned experts Clifford Ko, MD, from the American College of Surgeons, and Deb Cleeter-Bailey, EdD, from the Gerontological Nursing Leadership Academy. They were joined by Katrina Booth, MD (Assistant Professor, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) and Cynthia Brown, MD, MSPH (Director, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) for an informative dialogue on “The Journey Towards Age-Friendly Health Systems.”

Richard Kennedy, MD, PhD (Associate Professor, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) was simultaneously awarded a R01 and a R21 grant this month by the National Institute of Aging. In his R01 grant, he will explore repurposing existing medicines for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease, and in his R21 grant, he will assess the efficacy of “processing speed training” to reduce the risk of cognitive and functional decline in older adults diagnosed with delirium.

Todd Brown, MD, MSPH (Associate Professor, Cardiovascular Disease), Surya Bhatt, MD (Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care), and Vera Bittner, MD, MSPH (Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) recently attended the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation annual meeting where Dr. Brown was installed as president, Dr. Bhatt was recognized with an innovation award for his telehealth pulmonary rehab project, and Dr. Bittner received the designation Master of AACVPR. 

Congratulations to the three IM Residents who won C. Glenn Cobbs Book Awards for preparing the best admission write-ups at the VA in July and August: Leslie Avant, MD, Nicolas Ruiz, MD, and Kevin Schwalbach, MD.

Next week at Medical Grand Rounds: Rich Baron, MD, MACP, President and CEO of the American Board of Internal Medicine, will present, “Board Certification Matters in a Fact Free World” at noon on Wednesday, October 18, in Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium.

The first UAB i2b2 Abstract Contest will provide cash prizes for the best scientific abstract based on data from UAB’s i2b2 (Informatics for Integrating Biology and the Bedside) clinical data repository. The contest is co-sponsored by the UAB Informatics Institute and the CCTS, and the details are posted online. Deadline is Friday, November 17.

The UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center will host its annual Research Retreat and Research Competition, on Monday, October 30, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at Sheraton Birmingham Hotel.

The UAB Deep South Center for Occupational Health and Safety will host its fifth annual Veterans Disability Symposium to address “The Invisible Wounds of War” on Friday, November 3, from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the Lakeshore Foundation.

View this week's slides.