PrimaryCareScholars webCongratulations to the 2019-2020 Primary Care Scholars! The Primary Care Scholars program gives second-year residents the opportunity to experience high-performing outpatient practices, gain understanding of team-based primary care, and to develop into their full potential as future leaders of primary care.

L to R: Drs. Anne Wagstaff, Salmaan Kamal, Hilary Ragsdale and Kelly McMaster

More Good News for March 20, 2019

Match Day 2019 was a huge success for the Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program! The Department welcomes 36 students in the categorical program, two ABIM research pathway students in cardiology, and three preliminary students. They come from 23 different medical schools, and 8 of them are Alpha Omega Alpha honor society students. Congrats on another outstanding year of recruitment!

UAB Cardiologists Drs. Arka Chatterjee, Massoud Leesar, Mohammad Sarraf and Mark Sasse, report great outcomes associated with transcatheter aortic valve replacement at UAB. UAB performed 229 procedures in 2018, and a total of 551 TAVRs from 2016-2018. The three year risk-adjusted mortality rate is 0.79, which is in the nation’s top decile.

Anupam Agarwal, MD (Professor and Director, Nephrology), Subhashini Bolisetty, PhD (Assistant Professor, Nephrology), and Abolfazl Zarjou, MD, PhD (Assistant Professor, Nephrology) co-authored a paper that was published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America on how the proximal tubule expression of heme oxygenase-1, a gene that prevents vascular inflammation, detoxifies hem and prevents acute kidney injury that can lead to death in malaria. Their work was in collaboration with Nobel Laureate Peter Agre, MD.

The Department of Medicine was honored by Holy Family Cristo Rey High School on March 5, 2019 at the annual Appreciation Luncheon. This event celebrates HFCR's partnership with more than 60 local companies and organizations who employ their students. The annual Champion awards recognize companies and individual supervisors who have gone above and beyond to support the mission of their program. The DOM is proud to be a part of these students’ educational journey.

Carmen De Miguel, PhD (Instructor, Nephrology) won the 2019 Dale J. Benos Early Career Professional Service Award in Experimental Biology from the American Physiological Society. This award is given to those who have made outstanding contributions to the physiology community and demonstrated dedication and commitment to furthering the broader goals of the physiology community through scientific advocacy.

Monica Baskin, PhD (Professor, Preventive Medicine) and Claudia Hardy, MPA (Program Director, O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center) have developed the Deep South Network for Cancer Control, helping to train more than 1,200 people to spread lifesaving health information in their neighborhoods and hometowns. They are addressing the cancers that are particularly prevalent in rural and urban minority communities in the South which includes breast, cervical and colon cancer. Keep up the good work!

Gregory Payne, MD, PhD (Assistant Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) joined the Division of Cardiovascular Disease in June of 2018 after graduating from the UAB DOM Physician Scientist Training Program. As a general cardiologist and basic scientist, Dr. Payne’s work is concentrated in vascular biology, with a specific focus on understanding how inflammation promotes vascular disease. Welcome, Dr. Payne!

Coming next week to Medical Grand Rounds
Cheri Canon, MD
(Professor, UAB Department of Radiology) will present “Advancing Women in Medicine: Are We Falling Short?” at noon on Wednesday, March 27, in Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium.


  • Join us for Schwartz Rounds today at noon! Schwartz Rounds is a monthly grand rounds series that provides an interdisciplinary format to share the emotions of caring for acutely ill patients and their families. This month's session will focus on gender identity, today at noon in Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium.
  • The Department of Medicine is excited to announce that applications for several awards are now open! Know someone who should be considered for one of these awards? Nominate them!
  • Save the date for RIME Week 2019 on September 17-19! Research and Innovations in Medical Education (RIME) Week is an annual conference for clinician-educators that promotes teaching skills, fosters curriculum innovation, and showcases scholarship and research findings in medical education. This year’s keynote speaker will be Debra DaRosa, PhD, professor emeritus of Surgery and Medical Education at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

This week's slides