ChairProf web

Seven Department of Medicine faculty members appointed to new endowed chairs or professorships were recently celebrated at a school-wide reception. We are delighted to recognize their exceptional accomplishments, and we are indebted to the philanthropists who generously made these positions possible.

Drs. Salpy Pamboukian, Suzanne Oparil, Tom McElderry, Jose Tallaj, Andre Ballesteros-Tato, Doug Morgan, and Gang Liu were among those recognized at the SOM reception.


More Good News for November 20, 2019

Elizabeth Turnipseed, MD, MSPH (Associate Professor, General Internal Medicine) was elected by the active medical staff as UAB Medicine's chief of the medical staff-elect (COMSE). Working with Marty Heslin, MD, current chief of the medical staff, she will gain insight in leadership, guidance, and be a voice for the medical staff while promoting effective communication between medical staff and hospital administration.

Amit Gaggar, MD, PhD (Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care) and colleagues have traced the cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator (CFTR) back to the ancient jawless sea lamprey. Their study demonstrates that CFTR existed with a basic function as an ion channel earlier than the ancient split between jawed and jawless vertebrates. This was the first step toward further investigations to trace the path by which evolution led to improved channel function, from lamprey to human. Congrats on this strange and exciting science, Dr. Gaggar!

In a clinical trial conducted at UAB, Nirav Patel, MD (ABIM Research Pathway) and colleagues have outlined the mechanisms behind lower natriuretic peptide levels in African Americans and racial differences in response to a high-carbohydrate challenge. The report published in Circulation Research advances our understanding of the biological reasons behind disparities in diseases like diabetes and hypertension, which are related to low levels of NP hormones. 

Lindsey Shipley, MD (PGY-2) won an outstanding poster certificate at the American College of Gastroenterology annual scientific meeting for her presentation of "A Rare Cause of Acute Pancreatitis in a Transgender Female." Congratulations on this scholarship, Dr. Shipley!

Tom Buford, PhD (Associate Professor, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) lent his expertise to an insightful article on inflammation in the November issue of AARP. His comments on the influence of the gut microbiome and exercise on aging give practical advice to those concerned about maintaining optimal health at all ages and stages of life. Nice work, Dr. Buford.

Edward W. Inscho, PhD (Professor, Nephrology) will deliver the Carl W. Gottschalk Distinguished Lectureship at the American Physiological Society Experimental Biology conference in April 2020. This prestigious invitation is extended to a world-renowned scientist who has made major contributions to understanding physiological processes through state-of-the-art research. Kudos, Dr. Inscho!

The Department is thrilled to share a report from the American Society of Nephrology that ranks our Chronic Kidney Disease Clinic among the best in the country, with the highest care value provided for the cost. This research was designed to identify best practices for U.S. nephrologists who face increasingly value-sensitive payers and patients. Hats off to all the personnel who deliver outstanding patient care!

The Department is delighted to welcome a new Assistant Professor to the Division of General Internal Medicine. Alonso Heudebert, MD, MPH, joined the faculty in late July as a clinician seeing patients in the UAB Path Clinic, the BVAMC Red Clinic and serving as an attending physician on the Tinsley Harrison inpatient teaching service. Dr. Heudebert joins us from Washington University, where he received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award in 2015 and served as a chief medical resident in 2018-2019. Happy to have you at UAB, Dr. Heudebert!

One year after surpassing $500 million in research grant and award funding, UAB has reached another institutional milestone for the first time in its 50-year history — exceeding more than $600 million in research funding awards. The Department of Medicine research represents approximately 20% of that total, and we look forward to continuing to increase this important funding to advance the frontiers of science and translate it into new treatments and cures for our patients.

Coming next week to Medical Grand Rounds. NO LECTURE -- Happy Thanksgiving!

Once you’ve had your fill of turkey, be sure to mark your calendars for the following MGR on December 4. Meagan Gray (Gastroenterology & Hepatology), will present on the “Evidence Based Approach to Dietary Interventions in NAFLD”

View this week's slides