The Department of Medicine's Susan Birket, Ph.D., (Assistant Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine) and Nathan Erdmann, M.D., Ph.D., (Assistant Professor, Infectious Disease) are named among the 2022 James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars. The program recognizes junior faculty and supports the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists. Each award recipient will receive $12,500 per year for the next three years in support of continued discovery in the basic or clinical sciences. Congratulations, Drs. Birket and Erdmann on this well-deserved recognition. .

More Good News for January 14, 2022

Gareth Dutton, Ph.D., (Professor, Preventive Medicine) and other UAB obesity researchers published a new children's book which promotes simple changes families can make to develop healthy habits.

Jori May, M.D., (Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology) and colleagues highlight the significant impact of the pandemic on Hematology and Oncology trainees, noting loss of clinical opportunities and lack of mental health support.

Lisa Willett, M.D., (Professor, General Internal Medicine) and colleagues identify domains that promote retention of Internal Medicine Program Directors, noting the importance of purpose, culture, nature of the work and sense of achievement in effectiveness and longevity

David McCollum, M.D., (Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine) and colleagues in the Office of Clinical Practice Transformation reflect on the positive impact 3D Problem Solving initiative has had on patient care and job satisfaction.