Program Description:  The Department of Medicine (DOM) announces the 2022 Koopman Medical Student Research Excellence Award which will be given to up to three outstanding medical students this year. 

Koopman ResearchWilliam J. Koopman, MD. Photo courtesy of UAB Archives.This award is named in honor of Distinguished Professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Medicine William J. Koopman, MD, who earned worldwide recognition for defining the critical role synovial tissue and autoantibodies play in rheumatoid arthritis. His insights into the molecular biology of the disease inspired novel treatments currently being used today, including arthritis-fighting proteins, a monoclonal antibody, and even a vaccine. His distinguished research career is a model and an inspiration for all young investigators.

Medical students with an interest in medical or health-related research are encouraged to apply for this prestigious eight-week summer internship program with a research mentor who has a primary or secondary appointment in the DOM. The project will be conducted during the summer between the MS1 and MS2 years. Applications are due April 4, 2022.
View guidelines and eligibility.

Previous Awardees by Year


Andres Camino
Nicholas Van Wagoner, MD
Infectious Diseases

John Hunsicker
Ellen Eaton, MD
Infectious Diseases

John Mitchell
Martin Young, DPhil
Cardiovascular Disease

Venkata Tekumalla
Suzanne Oparil, MD
Cardiovascular Disease


Akhil Kaushik
Jennifer Pollock, PhD

Alex D’Amico
Jennifer Pollock, PhD

Audrey Ang
Roslyn Mannon, MD

Paul St. Clair
Christina Muzny, MD
Infectious Diseases


Dixon Johns
Steven Rowe, MD
Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical Care

Amy Schmitt
Ganesh Halade, PhD
Cardiovascular Disease 2018

Forrest Gamble
Steven Lloyd, MD PhD
Cardiovascular Disease


Stephanie Donaldson
Suzanne Oparil, MD
Cardiovascular Disease

Joshua Jackson
Jessy Deshane, PhD
Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine

Benjamin Smood
Palaniappan Sethu, PhD
Cardiovascular Disease


Kelsey Real
Kellie Flood, MD
Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care

Koushik Kasanagottu
Monika Safford, MD
Preventive Medicine

Salmaan Kamal
Stefan Kertesz, MD, MSc
Preventive Medicine


Kristin Olson
Christina Muzny, MD
Infectious Diseases

Ynhi Thai
Andrea Cherrington, MD
Preventive Medicine

Timothy Fernandez
Eric Sorscher, MD
Hematology and Oncology


Chad Colon
Suzanne Oparil, MD
Cardiovascular Disease

John Thomas
Anath Shalev, MD
Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism

Nick Scanlon
Paul Goepfert, MD
Infectious Diseases


Brandi Baker
S. Louis Bridges, MD, PhD
Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology

Guy Handley
J. Edwin Blalock, PhD
Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine

For additional information, contact:

DOM Research