Broadly stated, the Research Development Group’s (RDG) mission is to recognize and reward research excellence in the Department of Medicine, to foster mentorship, and to facilitate the career development of junior research faculty. 

RDG Members


Bobbie Van Der Pol, PhD, Division of Infectious Diseases (08/20)

Chair Elect 

Chad Hunter, PhD, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism (08/22)

Andre Ballesteros-Tato, PhD, Division of Immunology/Rheumatology (08/19)
Ronadip Banerjee, MD, PhD, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism (08/21) 
Surya Bhatt, MD, Division of Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical Care (08/19)
Merry-Lynn McDonald, PhD, Division of Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical Care (08/21)
Gareth Dutton, PhD, Division of Preventive Medicine (08/20)
Adam Edwards, MD, Division of Gastroenterology/Hepatology (08/21)
Ganesh V. Halade, PhD, Division of Cardiovascular Disease (08/19)
Elizabeth Jackson, MD, Division of Cardiovascular Disease (08/21)
Richard Kennedy, PhD, Division of Gerontology, Geriatrics, Palliative Care (08/20)
Timmy Lee, MD, Division of Nephrology (08/21)
Caroline Marshall, MD, Division of Nephrology (08/19)
Christina Muzny, MD, Division of Infectious Diseases (08/18) 
Aadia Rana, MD, Division of Infectious Diseases (08/21) 
Gabrielle Rocque, MD, Division of Hematology/Oncology (08/21)
Alexander Szalai, PhD, Division of Immunology/Rheumatology (08/21)

Ex Officio

Brittani DeLoach, MISE, Program Manager II
Cynthia Joiner, PhD, Assistant Vice Chair for Research
Victor J. Thannickal, MD, DOM Vice Chair for Research