Core Muscle Research Lab Fees

The Core Muscle Research Laboratory is equipped and staffed to provide blood and muscle tissue analysis in support of exercise studies conducted by Center for Exercise Medicine investigators. 
The laboratory occupies 1300 sq ft of space in 2 adjacent wet laboratories.

Sample Analysis and Experimental Support Services

  • Fluorescence microscopy (upright and inverted) for immunohistology and immunocytology 
  • RT-PCR/in situ hybridization for mRNA assays 
  • Cell and tissue culture studies including mechanical stretch to mimic exercise in vitro 
  • Protein immunoblotting and digital darkroom imaging 
  • Bioanalysis and interpretation for skeletal muscle genomic microarrays 
  • Enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) 
  • Enzyme activities via spectrophotometry or fluorometry 
  • Long-term tissue and cell storage 


Clinical Research Services
The Core Muscle Research Laboratory maintains a procedure room in the Clinical Research Unit of the UAB NIH Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS). Core investigators conduct and process outpatient muscle biopsies and blood draws for numerous exercise studies.


Meet the Team:

Marcas Bamman, PhD, FACSM 
Director
Professor of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology; Medicine, and Nutrition Sciences
mbamman@uab.edu 

Alexis Dunning, MS
Lab Manager
adunning@uab.edu 

Margaret Bell
Graduate Student Trainee
mbbell@uab.edu

Devin Drummer
Graduate Student Trainee
drummerd@uab.edu

Ali El-Husari
Researcher II
ahusari@uab.edu

Christian Kelley 
Researcher III 
cjkelley@uab.edu 

Kaleen Lavin, PhD
Postdoctoral Trainee
kmlavin@uab.edu

Manoel Lixandrao
Visiting Scientist
manoelix@uab.edu

Jeremy McAdam, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
jmcadam@uab.edu

Samia O'Bryan, PhD
Postdoctoral Trainee
sobryan@uab.edu

Gabriel Touliatos
Researcher II
gjt0002@uab.edu

Sufen Yang, HT, Ph.D
Researcher IV
sufenyang@uabmc.edu

Looking for internship or assistantship opportunities?
Fill out our application form here.

Physical location:
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Bevill Biomedical Research Building (BBRB) 360
845 19th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35294

Mailing address:
UAB
BBRB 342-15
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL  35294-2170

205-996-7936
exercise@uab.edu