First Year Schedule & Contacts

Module schedules are subject to change and may be updated at any time. Module dates are listed by the Monday the module starts through the Sunday end date for a given module, per the academic calendar. Please consult module schedules for the last day of classes for a given module. In many instances, the last day of classes for a given module is the Friday before the Sunday end date of that module.

Fall Modules


MS1 ORIENTATION:

Dates: Begins the week of Monday, July 27, 2015

Contact: Jason Noah, jnoah@uab.edu 

PCL 1130 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE 1


Dates: ICM 1 extends throughout the entire first year curriculum from Monday, July 27, 2015 to Sunday, June 5, 2015 (Fall activities end on or before Friday, December 20.  Spring activities end on or before Friday, June 3). 

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie, smassie@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: TBA
ICM Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473, annlee@uab.edu
ICM Program Director:  Ms. Anna Neklyudova, 975-6315, henkian@uab.edu

Schedule:  ICM-1 Fall Schedule
Schedule Last Revised: 08.20.15

PCL 1100 - PATIENT, DOCTOR, & SOCIETY AND ORIENTATION:


Dates:  Monday, August 3, through Sunday, August 16, 2015 (PDS classes end Friday, August 14)

Module Director: Dr. Thomas Huddle, thuddle@uab.edu
Module Coordinators:
          Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754,ctuma@uab.edu; Ms. Sharon Noser, 934-5118, snoser@uab.edu 

Schedule: PDS Schedule
Schedule Last Revised: 07.08.15

PCL 1125 - FUNDAMENTALS OF MEDICINE:  
UPDATED 07.16.15
(formerly PCL 1110 Fundamentals I and PCL 1120 Fundamentals II)

Dates: Monday, August 17, to Sunday, December 20, 2015 (fall break is October 19 to October 25; classes end Thursday, December 18.  Tentatively, no classes on Friday, December 19.)

Module Director: Dr. Laura Cotlin, lcotlin@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu

Overview of Fundamentals Blocks and Exam Dates (subject to change, Updated 08.19.15)

Block 1:  "Biomolecules and Bioenergetics"
Block 1 Leader: Dr. Martin Young, meyoung@uab.edu 
Schedule: Block 1 Schedule
Schedule Last Revised: 08.12.15

Block 2: "Development and Anatomic Structure"
Block 2 Leader: Dr. Laura Cotlin, lcotlin@uab.edu 
Schedule: 
Schedule Last Revised:

Block 3: "Cells and Foundations of Pharmacology"
Block 3 Leader: Dr. Teresa Wilborn, twilborn@uab.edu 
Schedule: 
Schedule Last Revised:

Block 4: "Pathology and Immunology: Response to Insult and Infection"
Block 4 Leader: Dr. Peter Anderson, pga@uab.edu 
Schedule: 
Schedule Last Revised:

Block 5: "Microbiology: Infectious Agents and Antimicrobial Therapy"
Block 5 Leader(s): Dr. Ken Waites, waiteskb@uab.edu, and Dr. Rachael Lee, ralee@uab.edu 
Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised: 

Winter/Spring Modules



PCL 1130 - INTRODUCTION TO CLINICAL MEDICINE 1 (continued):


Dates: ICM 1 extends throughout the entire first year curriculum from Monday, July 27, 2015 to Sunday, June 5, 2015 (Fall activities end on or before Friday, December 20.  Spring activities end on or before Friday, June 3).

ICM Director: Dr. F. Stanford Massie,smassie@uab.edu
ICM Co-Director: TBA
ICM Coordinator: Ms. Ann Lee, 934-4473,annlee@uab.edu
ICM Program Director:  Ms. Anna Neklyudova, 975-6315, henkian@uab.edu

Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised: 

PCL 1160 - CARDIOVASCULAR:


Dates: Monday, January 4, to Sunday, February 7, 2016 (classes end Friday, February 5)

Module Director: Dr. Silvio Litovsky, slitovsk@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Harish Doppalapudi, harish@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754,ctuma@uab.edu

Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised:

PCL 1165 - PULMONARY:


Dates: Monday, February 8, to Sunday, March 13, 2016 (classes end Friday, March 11)

Module Director: Dr. C. Bruce Alexander,cba@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Kevin Leon, kleon@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu

Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised: 

PCL 1175 - GASTROINTESTINAL:


Dates: Monday, March 21, to Sunday, May 1, 2016 (classes end Friday, April 30)

Module Director: Dr. Cathy Fuller, cfuller@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Chad Burski, cmburski@uab.edu 
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu

Schedule:
Schedule Last Revised: 

PCL 1170 - RENAL:


Dates: Monday, May 2, to Sunday, June 5, 2014 (classes end Friday, June 3)

Module Director: Dr. Mark Bevensee, bevensee@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Vineeta Kumar, kumarv@uab.edu
Clinical Co-Director: Dr. Eric Judd, ejudd@uab.edu
Module Coordinator: Ms. Carolyn Tuma, 934-4754, ctuma@uab.edu

Schedule:  
Schedule Last Revised: