The Office of Medical Education Accreditation and Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) fosters an environment where the medical school is engaging in an intentional process that supports educational program improvement, contributes to positive outcomes during accreditation review, and meets the Liaison for Medical Education (LCME) accreditation requirements.

The office is responsible for:

  • Conducting quality assurance on all LCME elements through annual maintenance and update of the LCME Data Collection Instrument
  • Monitoring ongoing citations from prior accreditation cycles
  • Reviewing and analyzing external and internal data sources to assist the administration and CQI Committee in prioritization of LCME elements for review and identifying areas of risk
  • Processing special requests for CQI review / CQI project proposal

CQI Committee

The CQI Committee, led by the Administrative & CQI Director, is responsible for reviewing performance on LCME standards/elements and working with key stakeholders to generate quality improvement recommendations that are presented to medical education leadership. Medical education leadership shares recommendations with individuals/groups responsible for implementing recommended changes and these efforts are monitored by the director of medical education accreditation and CQI who reports back to medical education leadership and the CQI committee.

Committee Members AY 2021-2022

Danielle Powell, MD, associate professor, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Laura Fraser, PhD, professor, Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology
Michele Nichols, MD, professor, Department of Pediatrics
Parekha Yedla, MD, associate professor, Huntsville Internal Medicine
Shawn Galin, PhD, associate professor, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Stephanie Berger, MD, associate professor, Department of Pediatrics
Will Brooks, PhD, professor, Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology
Brenessa Lindeman, MD, associate professor, Department of Surgery
David Bramm, MD, assistant professor, Huntsville Regional Medical Campus
Jeff Denney, MBA, MSHA, administrative director, Montgomery Regional Medical Campus
Caroline Boxmeyer, PhD, associate dean for Academic Affairs, Tuscaloosa Regional Campus
Colin Quinn, ISA co-chair, GS2, Medical Scientist Training Program
Kush Patel, ISA subcommittee lead, MS4, Birmingham Campus
Mitchell Disharoon, MS2, Montgomery Regional Medical Campus
JP Heudebert
, MS3, Birmingham Campus
Hunter Scott
, MS1, Tuscaloosa Regional Campus
Bhavan Modi
, MS4, Birmingham Campus


Elizabeth Rahn, PhD
Administrative Director, Department of Medical Education