anupam agarwalAnupam Agarwal, M.D., was named Interim Senior Vice President for Medicine at UAB and Dean of the School of Medicine at UAB on Feb. 8, 2013. He succeeded Ray L. Watts, M.D., who served as dean from September 2010 until February 2013, when he became president of UAB.

He returned to his position as director of the Division of Nephrology and vice chair for research in the Department of Medicine on October 15, 2013 as Selwyn Vickers, M.D., joined UAB as Senior Vice President for Medicine and Dean of the School of Medicine.

Dr. Agarwal graduated with honors from Kasturba Medical College in India in 1985. He completed his residency and a fellowship in nephrology at the Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research in India. He moved to the United States in 1992 and completed another fellowship at the University of Minnesota Hospital in 1995. He later served on the faculty at the University of Florida College of Medicine. Dr. Agarwal became a naturalized citizen of the United States in 2004.

Dr. Agarwal joined UAB as an associate professor in 2003 and was promoted to professor in 2005. He was appointed Director of the Division of Nephrology in 2008, Vice Chair for Research for the Department of Medicine in 2009 and the Marie S. Ingalls Endowed Chair in Nephrology Leadership in 2011. He served as interim chair of the Department of Medicine from August 2011 until August 2012. Dr. Agarwal is a physician-scientist; his research has been continually funded by the National Institutes of Health since 1997.

He currently serves as the director of the UAB-University of California San Diego O’Brien Core Center for Acute Kidney Injury Research, one of eight such centers in the country dedicated to better understanding kidney disease. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed scientific publications.

Specialty / Interests: Dr. Agarwal’s research program, funded by 2 NIH R01 awards as PI, has provided critical insights regarding the protective nature and significance of heme oxygenase-1 (HO-1) in vascular and renal inflammation, angiogenesis, transplant biology, and the molecular regulation of the human HO-1 gene. His bibliography includes 113 peer-reviewed papers and 30 invited reviews/book chapters, the former appearing in journals such as the Journal of Experimental Medicine, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Circulation, Circulation Research, Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, American Journal of Pathology as well as others. He has been recognized by the Max Cooper award for excellence in research, the Thomas Andreoli Professorship in Nephrology, election to membership in the American Society of Clinical Investigation and American Clinical and Climatological Association, the Marie S. Ingalls Endowed Chair in Nephrology leadership, a Dean’s Excellence award for leadership and the 2013 Graduate Dean’s Excellence in Mentorship award at UAB. Dr. Agarwal served as Chair, Organizing Committee for the 6th International Congress on Heme Oxygenases in 2009. He has served on the Program Committee of the American Society of Nephrology and will serve as the Chair of this committee for the 2013 Annual Meeting.

He enjoys golf, gardening and watching college football.