We recognize that women were once underrepresented in medicine. As women physicians have increased in number over the years, there has been a parallel increase in focus on women’s issues. UAB is dedicated to professional development and advancement of women physicians as well as placing a special focus on women’s health advocacy. We are proud of the successes of our local American Medical Women’s Association chapter which holds monthly meetings to address topics relevant to women in medicine and research as well as our Women in Medicine Committee within the Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program. We are committed to fostering discussion of and participating in initiatives that support leadership, advocacy, education, mentoring of women.

DOM Women in Medicine Series

Through the efforts of Lisa Willet, M.D. (Professor, General Internal Medicine) and Jori May, M.D. (Fellow, Hematology and Oncology) the Department of Medicine began a quarterly “Women in Medicine” series in 2017. These sessions have been a great success in being able to share challenges, offer mentorship, and build community among the women in the Department of Medicine. Female Internal Medicine and Medicine/Pediatrics residents, female fellows in the Department of Medicine and female faculty as well as interested staff are invited to attend these sessions.

Faculty Profiles

Vineeta Kumar, MDVineeta Kumar, MD, is Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology and serves as Program Director of the Transplant Nephrology Fellowship Program. She is a leader in UAB’s Living Kidney Donor Program and HLA/ABO Incompatible Program enabling her to provide life-saving transplants for patients with end stage renal disease. She also serves as the chief facilitator for UAB’s Schwartz Rounds, which serves to celebrate compassionate patient care among a multi-disciplinary medical team.  Her clinical excellence and leadership has led her to being awarded the 2017 Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine.

Kierstin Kennedy, MDKierstin Kennedy, MD, is Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine and Chief of Hospital Medicine for the UAB Hospitalist Service. Her passion for improving efficiency of hospital systems as it relates to patient care led her to serve as the inaugural Director of Quality for the UAB Hospitalist Service since 2014. Through this role, she pioneered the creation of the UAB Procedure Service, which provides high quality procedure services for all medical departments. For her excellence in service and leadership, she was awarded the Junior Faculty Dean’s Excellence Award in Service as well as the Unified Leadership Training Diversity Award from the Association of Chiefs and Leaders of General Internal Medicine.

Ashita Tolwani, MDAshita Tolwani MD, is Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine as leader in the Division of Nephrology. She has a passion for education and is recognized internationally for developing educational tools aimed at understanding treatment of acute kidney injury with continuous renal-replacement therapy in the intensive care setting. She has previously served as director of UAB Nephrology Fellowship for 8 years and continues to mentor students, residents, and fellows desiring a career in nephrology. She was instrumental in developing UAB’s in-service examination for nephrology fellows, which has now been adapted by the American Society of Nephrology. Her dedication to teaching and mentorship is reflected in her recent award of the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Suzanne Oparil, MDSuzanne Oparil MD, is distinguished Professor of Medicine, Professor of Cell Development and Integrative Biology, and Section Chief of Vascular Biology and Hypertension in the Division of Cardiovascular Disease. She has held numerous advisory positions with the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and served as the Co-chair of the Joint National Committee (JNC-8) to help design guidelines for prevention, evaluation, and treatment of high blood pressure. She has served as President of the American Heart Association, the American Society of Hypertension, and as the first female president of the American Federation for Clinical Research. For her excellence in research and education, she was recently awarded the Excellence in Hypertension Award by the American Heart Association.

Jeanne Marrazzo, MD, MPHJeanne Marrazo, MD, MPH, is Professor of Medicine and serves as Director of the Division of Infectious Disease. Through this role, she is able to fulfill two life-long passions: fostering collaborative research and mentoring young to mid-career faculty.  She has been a leader in HIV and STD research for decades and continues to look to build relationships between basic science and clinical science within her division to further the advancement of research efforts. She is actively involved in conducting world-class research funded by the Center for Disease Control (CDC) and National Institute of Health (NIH) and continues to serve a fixture of excellence in providing care to vulnerable patient populations.