From Archives 275x275Pictures highlight the UAB Department of Surgery's history. Images capture past leaders of the UAB Department of Surgery.

By Tim L. Pennycuff
Images courtesy of UAB Archives

Champ Lyons, M.D.

Champ Lyons, M.D., performs surgery in 1968. Lyons was appointed the first full-time chair of the Department of Surgery in 1950.

John Kirklin, M.D

John Kirklin, M.D., with Penny Williamson, president of University Hospital Auxiliary, in 1973. The auxiliary provided funds in 1973 to help equip a new open-heart surgical suite. In 1966, Kirklin left the Mayo Clinic to become the third chair of surgery at UAB.

Arnold Diethelm, M.D.

Arnold Diethelm, M.D., speaks to the press following performing a kidney transplant in October 1988. Diethelm served as surgery chair for 17 years beginning in 1982 and helped develop an internationally recognized transplantation program at UAB.

James Kirklin, M.D.

James Kirklin, M.D., reviews a chart (undated). Kirklin, son of John Kirklin, is the director of the James and John Kirklin Institute for Research in Surgical Outcomes and holds the James K. Kirklin Endowed Chair of Cardiovascular Surgery.

Carla Falkson, M.D., Helen Krontiras, M.D., and Kirby Bland, M.D.

Carla Falkson, M.D., Helen Krontiras, M.D., and Kirby Bland, M.D., in the Kirklin Clinic circa 2002. Bland was named chair of the Department of Surgery in October 1999, a position he held until 2015. Krontiras is now director of the Division of Surgical Oncology. Falkson is a professor in the Division of Hematology and Oncology.