Mentoring Awards

The MHRC Training Program relies on dedicated mentors who go above and beyond to help guide young investigators in the field of health disparities research.

The MHRC invites students, scholars, alumni, and MHRC Research Award recipients to nominate candidates for the Excellence in Mentoring Award. The $500 award recognizes faculty members who not only have provided outstanding mentoring but have contributed substantially to the career development and retention of students and scholars.

Faculty members eligible for consideration are those who mentor an undergraduate or graduate student, post-doctoral fellows, junior faculty scholars, or grant recipients. Previous Excellence in Mentoring Award recipients are eligible to be nominated again, to encourage continued excellence. Three mentors will be selected to receive this award.

Please click here to nominate your mentor. If you have any questions regarding mentor nominations, please contact Ann Smith at 

Excellence in Mentoring Award Recipients

Please select a year below to view winners. 

  • 2019

    Chasity Bradford, PhD
    Tuskegee University
    Assistant Professor, Biology
    Nominated by: Kennedy Harris, TU

    Markus Bredel, MD, PhD
    Professor and Sharon A. Spencer Distinguished Endowed Chair in Translational Radiation Oncology
    Nominated by: Zachary White, UAB | Currently at University of South Alabama

    Sigrid Ladores, PhD, RN, PNP, CNE
    Associate Professor, School of Nursing
    Nominated by: Leigh Ann Bray, PhD, UAB

  • 2018
    Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, PhD, RD
    UAB School of Health Professions
    Professor and Webb Endowed Chair of Nutrition Sciences
    Nominated by: Jennifer Bail, PhD, RN, at UAB

    Brian M. Rivers, PhD, MPH
    Morehouse School of Medicine
    Director, Cancer Health Equity Institute
    Nominated by Zakiya Haji-Noor and Ashley Ojeaga, MPH at MSM
  • 2017

    Henry E. Wang, MD, MS, MPH
    UAB Heersink School of Medicine
    Emergency Medicine
    Nominated by: Allison Jones, PhD, MS, at UAB

    Clayton Yates, PhD
    Tuskegee University
    Department of Biology and Center for Cancer Research
    Nominated by: Anusha Angajala and Tewodros Endalew at Tuskegee University

  • 2016
    Marie A. Bakitas, DNSc, CRNP
    for mentoring J. Nick Dionne-Odom, PhD

    Roberta M. Troy, PhD
    Tuskegee University
    for mentoring Devin Jacob and the Tuskegee University Summer Cancer Research Training Program participants

    Danielle K. Powell, MD, MSPH
    for mentoring Edinam Kokutse
  • 2015

    Turner Overton, MD
    UAB Heersink School of Medicine
    for mentoring Ricardo Franco, MD

  • 2012

    Lourdes Sanchez-Lopez, PhD
    UAB School of Arts and Sciences
    for mentoring Jonathan Casiano

    Monika Safford, MD
    UAB Heersink School of Medicine
    for mentoring Haiyan Qu, PhD

  • 2011

    Andrea Cherrington, MD, MPH
    UAB Heersink School of Medicine
    for mentoring Amanda Willig, PhD

    John C. Higgenbotham, PhD, MPH
    UA Department of Community and Rural Medicine
    for mentoring Leah Yerby, PhD

    Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, PhD, RD
    UAB School of Health Professions
    for mentoring Krista Casazza, PhD, RD

  • 2010
    Felix Aikhionbare, PhD
    Morehouse School of Medicine
    for mentoring Gregory Adams, Jr.

    Linda Moneyham, DNS, RN, FAAN
    UAB School of Nursing
    for mentoring Comfort Enah, PhD and Carrie Ann Long Gakumo, PhD

    Nefertiti Durant, MD, MPH
    UAB Department of Pediatrics
    for mentoring Chelsea Marion
  • 2009
    Maja Altarac, MDMPH, PhD
    UAB Health Care Organization & Policy
    for mentoring Keokunthea Dy, MPH

    Upender Manne, MS, PhD
    UAB Pathlogy
    for mentoring Harvey L. Bumpers, MD, FACS

    Karen Meneses, PhD, RN, FAAN
    UAB School of Nursing
    for mentoring Angela Jukkala, PhD, RN
  • 2008
    David B. Allison, PhD
    UAB Biostatistics
    for mentoring Olivia Thomas, PhD

    Jose Fernandez, PhD
    UAB Nutrition Sciences-Physiology & Metabolism
    for mentoring Akilah Dulun Keita, PhD, Krista Casazza, PhD, Dana Marie Thomas, PhD and Jennifer Williams

    Sheri Spaine Long, PhD
    UAB Foreign Languages
    for mentoring Lorena Vasquez
  • 2007
    Edward W. Hook, MD
    UAB Medicine
    for mentoring Mirjam-Colette Kempf, PhD

    James A. Mobley, PhD
    UAB Surgery for mentoring Senait Asmellash, PhD

    Isabel Scarinci, Phd, MPH
    UAB Preventive Medicine
    for mentoring Lorena Loran-Pothuisje