Tyler StewartaCongratulations to Tyler Stewart (Novak lab) who received a Hiramoto Travel Award to assist in his travel to the Society for Glycobiology Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

The Hiramoto Travel Award honors the memory of Ray Hiramoto, Ph.D., a noted immunologist and faculty member in the UAB Department of Microbiology until his death in 2002.

All Microbiology graduate students (defined as Ph.D. students with a primary Microbiology faculty member as a dissertation mentor) in good standing are eligible to apply for a Hiramoto Travel Award. These awards will enable recipients to attend upcoming scientific conferences.

Mestecky and book 2015aMicrobiology professor Jiri Mestecky, M.D., Ph.D., has completed the fourth edition of Mucosal Immunology, the only comprehensive reference covering the basic science and clinical manifestations of mucosal immunology.

First published in 1994 as Handbook of Mucosal Immunology, this book was the first to cover the entire spectrum of mucosal immunology in a single work. In its infancy, the book was predicted to become an invaluable stimulus to new lines of interdisciplinary research—and that it has. For more than 20 years, Mucosal Immunology has been a go-to for a diverse group of biologists, researchers, health care workers and students of medicine and pediatrics as they each apply basic biology to virtually all immunological or infection-mediated disease processes of external mucosal surfaces.

The recently released fourth edition consists of two volumes with 2,560 pages. Mestecky has included new research data, exceptional illustrations, original theory, a new perspective, and excellent organization. The book covers immune system topics, such as inductive and effector tissues and cells, and development and physiology of the mucosal barrier; diseases in the digestive system, respiratory tract, and genitourinary tract; and immunodeficiency.

Mucosal Immunology, Fourth Edition, published by Academic Press, is available in hardcover and eBook formats.
Mark WalterMicrobiology professor Mark Walter, Ph.D., is finding and optimizing antibodies against 17 different interferons and their receptors that provoke lupus, a chronic disease that damages skin, joints, blood cells, kidneys, heart, brain or lung affecting at least 1.5 million Americans. Walter’s research is funded by the Lupus Research Institute.
Bliss Chang.jpg.opt196x257o00s196x257 Undergraduate student Bliss Chang (Saad Lab) has been selected as one of three students to receive the College of Arts and Sciences 2015 Dean’s Award.

“All departmental nominees for this special award were truly wonderful students. To receive a departmental nomination for the Dean’s Award is even more impressive because the competition is so intense,” says Catherine Daniélou, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Academic Affairs, UAB College of Arts and Sciences. “Our College of Arts and Sciences’ Dean’s Award recipients represent the very best that UAB can achieve.”

Chang will be honored and recognized at Honors Convocation on Friday, April 24 at 3pm at the Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center.

Bliss Chang.jpg.opt196x257o00s196x257Congratulations to Bliss Chang, an undergraduate student in Dr. Jamil Saad’s lab, who has been selected for a 2015-16 Fulbright US Student Award to Germany. He will represent the US as a cultural ambassador while overseas, helping to enhance mutual understanding between Americans and the people in Germany. He joins over 100,000 Fulbright US Student Program alumni who have undertaken grants since the program began in 1948.

Padgett LindseyMicrobiology trainee Lindsey Padgett (Tse lab) has received a 2015 AAI–Thermo Fisher Trainee Achievement Award. She is one of six trainees who will be presented with the awards at the AAI Annual Meeting - IMMUNOLOGY 2015 in New Orleans where she will give a presentation about her current research.

The AAI-Thermo-Fisher Trainee Achievement award was established in 1997 to recognize promising trainees in the field of immunology. Award recipients receive a $1,000 cash award and up to $1,250 in reimbursable travel support.