MSTP Student Representatives

Primarily, the student reps are responsible for maintaining contact between students and the administration. Although they can always go directly to the administration, students should feel free to contact their representatives about any problems they may see with the program. The reps should also communicate viewpoints/ideas of students and be able to speak on behalf of various students. Reps are expected to attend monthly MSTP staff meetings and be involved with the inner workings of the program. Reps are the voice of the students in discussing program policies, both new and old. Therefore, they are often able to communicate new requirements and explain the reasoning behind them.

  • MSTP Class Representatives
  • APSA Representatives
  • SEMSS Representatives
  • Griffin Society
  • Events Committee
  • Communications Committee
  • MSTP CAMS Committee
  • MSTP IDP Committee

MSTP Class Representatives

  • Jake Files (MS2)
  • Patrick Molina (GS1; 1st year of 2-year term)
  • Sushma Boppana (GS2; 1st year of 2-year term)
  • Nicholas Eustace (GS3/GS4)
  • Alice Weaver (MS3/MS4)
  • Brandon Fox (UASOM Technical Standards)
  • Morgan Locy (UASOM Medical Education Committee Representative [MEC]) 

American Physician Scientist Association (APSA) Representatives

The APSA is a national organization dedicated to addressing the needs of future physicians and their training and career development. They have an annual meeting each year in Chicago (usually in April) that is held in conjunction with the American Society for Clinical Investigation/Association of American Physicians. The UAB MSTP provides funds for the Institutional Representative to attend this annual meeting. The responsibility of the institutional representative are to serve as a liaison between APSA and the physician-scientist student population at UAB.
  • Tyler McCaw (UAB APSA Representative and President)
  • Muhan Hu (UAB APSA Vice President)
  • Sebastian Chung (UAB APSA Treasurer)
  • Paige Souder (UAB APSA Secretary)
  • Corey Duke (UAB APSA Research Database Director)
  • Adam Beg (UASOM Representative MS1/MS2)
  • Alex Dussaq (APSA Web Master) 

Southeastern Medical Scientist Symposium (SEMSS) 

The SEMSS is hosted by MSTP students from UAB, Emory, and Vanderbilt and seeks to (1) foster dialogue and networking among MD/PhD trainees at institutions in the Southeast US; (2) provide opportunities to present research beyond a school-wide setting; and (3) educate undergraduate students possibly interested in MD/PhD programs. The SEMMS is supported by the American Physician Scientist Association (APSA) and NIH NIGMS.

  • Muhan Hu (Chair, GS3)
  • Corey Duke (GS2)
  • Jacob Files (MS2) 
  • Melissa Jennings (MS1)
  • Shreya Kashyap (MS2)
  • Patrick Molina (GS1)
  • Michael Patton (MS1)

Griffin Society Representatives

This committee is responsible for interaction with our Physician-Scientist Advisory Group to help set up our Clinical Continuity Experiences. This includes identifying physicians in various specialty areas for shadowing opportunities, as well as interacting with the Medicine Residency Program Directors to identify residents willing to work with our students to help keep up their history and physical skills.

MSTP Griffin Society Representatives

  • William Geisler, MD, MSTP Clinical Associate Director
  • Sushma Boppana (2017-2018 Chair; GS2)
  • Emma Dean (GS1)
  • Stephen Gragg (GS3)
  • Kelsey Patterson (GS3)
  • Mark Pepin (GS3)
  • Kristin Olson (GS3)
  • Will Webb (GS4)
  • Morgan Zipperly (GS2)

Events Committee

The Events Committee is responsible for helping to plan the Annual MSTP Retreat and the new MSTP Student Picnic.  This group will also be responsible for helping to organize all our student interactions during recruiting, including student hosts, dinners, social hours, the second visit party, etc.

MSTP Events Committee Members

  • Graham Cochrane (Co-Chair, GS1)
  • Jacelyn Peabody (Co-Chair, GS1)
  • Nicholas Eustace (GS4)
  • Sushma Boppana (GS2)
  • Emma Dean (GS1)
  • Hunter Dean (MS2)
  • Jacob Files (MS2)
  • Melissa Jennings (MS1)
  • Asher Krell (GS1)
  • Patrick Molina (GS1)
  • Taylor Person (MS1)
  • Lindsay Stoyka (GS3)
  • Morgan Zipperly (GS2)

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee is responsible for writing and producing "The Vulcan Letter," our semiannual newsletter that chronicles all things MSTP and showcases the energy and fun spirit of our band of merry pranksters while highlighting the national recognition our students and our program continue to accrue.  It is also a great opportunity to keep in touch with our alumni, while learning about their experiences after graduation and gaining some insight into what our future may hold.  This committee is also responsible for updating the MSTP blog "UnABridged". Ideas, stories, or pictures can be sent to the Communications Committee at

MSTP Communications Committee Members

  • Paige Souder (GS2, Chair)
  • Emily Hayward (MS2)
  • Alana Jones (MS1)
  • Shreya Kashyap (MS2)
  • Joseph Ladowski (GS4)
  • Hayden Pacl (GS1)
  • Michael Patton (MS1)
  • Lindsay Stoyka (GS3)

MSTP CAMS Committee

The CAMS committee sponsors a monthly evening seminar series (Monthly Translational Research Seminar, MSTP 794) and invites speakers from university faculty currently involved in translational research, in addition to presentations from senior students in the program.

MSTP CAMS Committee Representatives

  • Ashleigh Irwin (Chair; MS2)
  • Garrett Brinkley (GS2)
  • Seth Fortmann (MS1)
  • Bryan Mott (MS1)
  • Jeff Singer (GS6)


MSTP IDP Committee Representatives

  • Ashleigh Irwin (Chair; MS2)
  • Hunter Dean (MS2)
  • Bryan Mott (MS1)
  • Lamario Williams (MS1)