This annual symposium is open to nephrology and pulmonary/critical care fellows, clinicians, nurses, pharmacists, and anyone interested in obtaining a practical understanding of CRRT.

Save the Date: UAB CRRT Academy September 28 and 29, 2017; Location: Doubletree Hotel, 808 20th Street S, Birmingham, AL, 35205; Contact information: Daisy Sparks at for travel grant and registration information. Please copy Dr. Ashita Tolwani at  on email. Seating is limited to 50. In addition to CRRT didactics, we have added more hands-on workshops and interactive cases.  A new pre and post-test will be given. Ten $700 travel grants are available for fellows in training on a first-come first serve basis and requires a letter from the program director. One letter per institution. Instruction Form for travel grant and registration are attached. Grants are limited in number and only available to non-UAB attendants.

Conference Agenda

Travel Award Application


Previous year's programs
2013 CRRT Academy program
2014 CRRT Academy Program
2015 CRRT Academy Program
2016 CRRT Academy Program

The University of Alabama has hosted the Home Dialysis Academy (previously the Peritoneal Dialysis Academy) for the last ten years.  The course is a 3-day course held at the University campus.  The purpose of HDA is to provide a platform for trainee physicians in nephrology to learn and master the basic concepts of peritoneal dialysis and home hemodialysis by didactic lectures, hands on workshops, and interactive problem sessions.  Ultimately, this academy aims to improve the utilization of home modalities and improve the comfort level of nephrologists with home modalities of dialysis.

The program has been endorsed by the International Society of Peritoneal Dialysis (ISPD) and is offered to all Nephrology Fellows/Programs in the United States.

This year's HDA will be held January 18-20, 2017.


Sponsored by educational grants and gifts from Baxter Healthcare Corps and DaVita Inc.