andreoliThis annual lecture series has been named The Thomas E. Andreoli Lecture Series. Presenters are selected by distinguished members of the Division of Nephrology.

Thomas E. Andreoli, MD was a Distinguished Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics, and the Nolan Professor and ChairEmeritus of Internal Medicine at the University of Arkansas College of Medicine.   He received his M. D., magna cum laude, from Georgetown University and trained in Internal Medicine and Physiology at Duke University and at the NIH.  After five years on the Duke faculty, he joined UAB as Director of Nephrology in 1970. He served as Editor of the American Journal of Physiology:  Renal Physiology and Kidney International.

Dr. Andreoli has held numerous leadership positions, including President of the American Society of Nephrology and the International Society of Nephrology.  He has received prestigious awards, such as the Homer W. Smith Award from the American Society of Nephrology; David M. Hume Memorial Award of the National Kidney Foundation; Robert H. Williams Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award from the Association of Professors of Medicine; the Louis Pasteur Medal from the Universite Louis Pasteur; Robert W. Berliner Award for Excellence in Renal Physiology from the American Physiological Society. The Thomas E. Andreoli Professorship in Nephrology.

Past Lecturers