Vicky Yanouskiy, one of the ten undergraduate students participating in this year’s NSF-funded Summer Program in Neurobiology, earned 2nd place in the "Biology and Life Sciences” poster presentations at the UAB EXPO this week. Vicky is spending her summer working in the lab of Dr. Rita Cowell under the tutelage of graduate student Stephanie Boas, also author of the award-winning poster. Congrats to all!

The Summer Expo showcases the research and service learning work produced by UAB undergraduates and other students in UAB summer research programs, summer REU programs, and other summer opportunities.  For a complete list of winners see Expo Winners.

Linda Overstreet-Wadiche, associate professor in the Department of Neurobiology, has been named a Reviewing Editor for the Journal of Neuroscience. She will serve a three-year term beginning this month. The Journal of Neuroscience is the largest weekly journal dedicated to neuroscience research and the official journal of the Society for Neuroscience, an international organization of over 40,000 members. Overstreet-Wadiche previously served two terms as an Associate Editor, from 2010-2016.


Dr. Farah Lubin was recently published in Science Signaling for her work on memory formation.  For the complete article, visit NEAT1


Join Craig Powell in congratulating, Vlad Parpura on receiving the first ever honorary professor title from University of Rijeka.

September 2017 464

Mary Phillips and Holly Robinson, in the Pozzo-Miller Lab, have been working to determine where in the brain social memories are stored.  Their work was recently published in eLife. 
Ventral Hippocampal