Linda Overstreet-Wadiche, associate professor in the Department of Neurobiology, has been named a Reviewing Editor for the Journal of Neuroscience. She will serve a three-year term beginning this month. The Journal of Neuroscience is the largest weekly journal dedicated to neuroscience research and the official journal of the Society for Neuroscience, an international organization of over 40,000 members. Overstreet-Wadiche previously served two terms as an Associate Editor, from 2010-2016.


Dr. Farah Lubin was recently published in Science Signaling for her work on memory formation.  For the complete article, visit NEAT1


Join Craig Powell in congratulating, Vlad Parpura on receiving the first ever honorary professor title from University of Rijeka.

September 2017 464

Mary Phillips and Holly Robinson, in the Pozzo-Miller Lab, have been working to determine where in the brain social memories are stored.  Their work was recently published in eLife. 
Ventral Hippocampal

Dr. Craig Powell is proud to announce the Department of Neurobiology has two primary faculty members who are recipients of the 2019 Dean’s Awards.  Dr. Cristin Gavin received an Excellence in Teaching Award and Dr. Jeremy Day received an Excellence in Research Award. Only eighteen faculty members were selected so for Neurobiology to have two of the eighteen is quite an accomplishment. 

The Dean’s Excellence Awards are annual honors to recognize outstanding contributions made by faculty across the School of Medicine – both junior and senior faculty members are honored in the areas of service, teaching, research, mentorship, and diversity enhancement.

Awardees are selected through a peer-review process facilitated by a member of the dean’s leadership team.

Cristin Gavin, Ph.D.  Jeremy Day, Ph.D.
Cristin Gavin, Ph.D.             Jeremy Day, Ph.D.

For additional details visit:  Awards