Dr. Gwendalyn D. King was quoted in the New York Times.  Written by Carl Zimmer, "One Day There May Be a Drug to Turbocharge the Brain. Who Should Get it?" was published on April 2, 2019.

Congratulations Gwen on your new found fame!
Dr. Vladimir Parpura has been elected to the International Society for Neurochemistry (ISN) as a Council Member-Elect (2019 - 2023).  The online voting elected six new council members.

ISN is a nonprofit membership organization and the only global society focused on neurochemistry.  With a proud history dating back to its establishemnt in 1965, ISN strives to promote all relevant aspects of molecualr and cellular neuroscience. 

Dr. Parpura is a professor in the Department of Neurobiology and a senior scientist at the Civitan International Research Center.
Mary Phillips, has been chosen to receive the 2019 GBS/JHS Outstanding Student Award. 
The award will be presented officially at the UAB Honors Convocation which will be held at the Alys Stephens Center on  April 16, 2019.  Mary's achievements as a graduate student will be recognized during the event and her accomplishments will be highlighted in an upcoming edition of the Graduate School newsletter.

Mary is a graduate student in the lab of Dr. Lucas Pozzo-Miller.

Join us in congratulating  her on this honor! 

 Robinson Holly 2 Holly Robinson

Holly Robinson, an undergraduate researcher studying Rett Syndrome, was selected as an institutional nominee for the
Barry Goldwater Scholarship (highest honor national undergraduate scholarship for research). She conducted much of her research over the summer as a participant in the Honors Neuroscience Summer Research Academy which is partially sponsored by the Civitan International Research Center. 

Congratulations, Holly!