Seven UAB Department of Neurosurgery faculty were named best doctors within multiple categories on the Best Doctors in Alabama list.
Best Doctors was founded in 1989 by Harvard Medical School physicians, and it utilizes a polling method and proprietary balloting software that allows doctors to recognize other doctors as the best in their fields. Best Doctors mimics a peer-to-peer process that doctors use when locating the right specialist for their own patient.

UAB Department of Neurosurgery Chair James M. Markert, Jr., M.D., MPH, is pleased that seven faculty from the department were named, including him.

“The UAB Department of Neurosurgery has incredibly talented faculty with a range of experience that allows us to care for a full spectrum of neurological disorders,” said Markert. “While we don’t deliver outstanding patient care for the recognition, it’s wonderful to see the hard work of our faculty commended.”

Jeffrey P. Blount, M.D.
Winfield S. Fisher III, M.D.
Barton L. Guthrie, M.D.
Mark N. Hadley, M.D.
James M. Markert, Jr., M.D., MPH
Patrick R. Pritchard, M.D.
Kristen Riley, M.D.

Click here to view the entire list of named providers.