AwardsSix Department of Neurosurgery faculty and staff are celebrating at least 10 years of service with the university.

The UAB Service Awards proudly honors those employees who have made a significant career commitment to UAB. The program is designed to recognize and express appreciation to employees at each five-year milestone who have completed five or more years of service to UAB.

This year, UAB recognized the following employees: James Markert, M.D., MPH, James Garber Galbraith endowed chair of neurosurgery, with 25 years of service, Jeffrey Blount, M.D., director of the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery, and Svetlana Komarova, M.D., research associate in the Van Meir Lab, both with 20 years of service.

Three others were honored for their 10 years of service and dedication: James Johnston, Jr., M.D., pediatric neurosurgery, Rhonda L. Whidden, clinical research nurse coordinator, and Sherrie Alexander, researcher III, Neurosurgery Research Laboratory.

Although institutional, in-person celebrations will not take place as they typically do, service pins and certificates were distributed by HR to campus departments so they could recognize these individuals in a meaningful way. Congratulations to each of the service award recipients.