Dr. James MarkertJames Garber Galbraith Endowed Chair of Neurosurgery James Markert, M.D., MPH, was elected president-elect of the American Academy of Neurological Surgery (AAcNS) for 2020-2021.

As a member of the executive committee, Markert will lead alongside the AAcNS President Douglas Kondziolka, M.D., neurosurgeon at NYU Langone. Markert will serve current members through leadership and oversight of the Academy meetings, as well as field the educational and funding opportunities that the Academy makes available to its members. Markert has served on the Executive Committee of the Academy for several years, including serving as its secretary for the last three.

Additionally, Markert has held leadership positions within the UAB Department of Neurosurgery since 2006, when he was appointed Director of the Division of Neurosurgery. In 2013, when the Division of Neurosurgery was granted Departmental status by the University of Alabama School of Medicine, Markert was named the inaugural chair of the Department of Neurosurgery.

“I look forward to furthering the mission of this wonderful organization” said Markert. “It is an honor to represent UAB Neurosurgery in this national position, and I hope to build on the successes of past president-elects while also forming a new legacy for the AAcNS.”

The mission of the AAcNS is to foster scientific discovery and innovative research seeking to better the lives of patients suffering from neurological and surgical disorders. The vision of the Academy is to serve as the leading neurosurgical organization in North America focused on promoting, sponsoring and mentoring laboratory, translational, and clinical research in the neurological sciences.