Displaying items by tag: Comprehensive Cancer Center

Erwin G. Van Meir, Ph.D., has been appointed to the newly established David Hart White Endowed Professorship for Brain Cancer Research at the NCI-designated O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB.

Sharon A. Spencer, M.D., professor in the UAB Department of Radiation Oncology, is the 2021 winner of the Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine. The award recognizes physicians at UAB who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to providing highly skilled and deeply compassionate medical care to their patients.

This summer, MS2s Jessica Wu and Geoffrey Bostany are working on forward-thinking projects in the lab of Smita Bhatia, M.D., MPH, director of the Institute for Cancer Outcomes and Gay and Bew White Endowed Chair in Pediatric Oncology.

O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center senior scientists Helen Krontiras, M.D., and Gregory Kennedy, M.D., Ph.D., will begin new leadership roles within the O’Neal Cancer Service Line, effective June 1.

Karen Cropsey, Psy.D.,, professor in Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology, has been awarded the senior faculty 2021 Dean’s Excellence Award for Mentoring.

Frida Rosenblum, M.D., assistant professor in the UAB Department of Pathology, has been awarded the junior faculty 2021 Dean’s Excellence Award for Teaching.

After many months of preparation and an extensive review process, the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB will submit their P30 Cancer Center Support Grant (CCSG) renewal to the National Cancer Institute (NCI) to fund another five-years of success later this month.

For Women’s History Month this year, the School of Medicine is dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments, achievements, and successes of women over time. For Part 4, we focus on women currently making history in administration, diversity, and outreach.

Page 1 of 4