Brit Blalock

Brit Blalock

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
During my recent State of the School address, I reviewed the progress and success that our school has experienced over the last five years. That advancement included a sharp increase of more than $100M in National Institutes of Health (NIH) research funding as well as other research funding, the expansion of educational programming, and growth in clinical care numbers.
Save the date for the upcoming Leadership in Academic Medicine Lecture in Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium Wednesday, Feb. 27 from 8-9:30 a.m. Marna Borgstrom, MPH, president and CEO of both the Yale New Haven Hospital and Yale New Haven Health System, will be the guest lecturer. Her talk title is “Driving Value in the Yale New Haven Health System.”

Students from the UAB School of Medicine will drop their books to hit the stage Friday, Feb. 22, at the historic Lyric Theatre for The Best Medicine Show, an annual philanthropic event highlighting the students’ creative sides with short digital films, live sketches, music and dance.

The School of Medicine communications staff sat down with Dr. Nakano to gain insights about his research, UAB and the science community.

Five faculty members in the UAB School of Medicine have been named the 2019 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars—a program created to recognize the contributions of junior faculty and support the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.

Steven Theiss, M.D., has been named the first chair for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at UAB’s School of Medicine. Theiss has served as the interim chair since Orthopaedics was elevated from a division to the 27th department in the School of Medicine in November 2017.
Latesha Elopre, M.D., MSPH, has been named director of Diversity and Inclusion for the Graduate Medical Education in the School of Medicine. Elopre is an assistant professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases.
Jayme Locke, M.D., MPH, FACS, FAST, has been named director of the UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute (CTI). Locke’s responsibilities will include articulating the CTI’s vision and mission; creating a strategic plan to fulfill that vision and mission; monitoring the effectiveness of each transplant program; and appointing, supervising and developing CTI program directors.

The School of Medicine communications staff sat down with Dr. Niederweis to gain insights about his research, UAB and the science community.

Smita Bhatia, M.D., MPH, professor and vice chair for outcomes in the Department of Pediatrics and director of UAB’s Institute for Cancer Outcomes and Survivorship, has received the Northwestern Mutual Award for Excellence in Childhood Cancer Survivorship from The American Society of Pediatric Oncology/Hematology (ASPHO).
Page 4 of 10