Brit Blalock

Brit Blalock

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Five faculty members in the UAB School of Medicine have been named the 2019 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars—a program created to recognize the contributions of junior faculty and support the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.

Steven Theiss, M.D., has been named the first chair for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at UAB’s School of Medicine. Theiss has served as the interim chair since Orthopaedics was elevated from a division to the 27th department in the School of Medicine in November 2017.
Latesha Elopre, M.D., MSPH, has been named director of Diversity and Inclusion for the Graduate Medical Education in the School of Medicine. Elopre is an assistant professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases.
Jayme Locke, M.D., MPH, FACS, FAST, has been named director of the UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute (CTI). Locke’s responsibilities will include articulating the CTI’s vision and mission; creating a strategic plan to fulfill that vision and mission; monitoring the effectiveness of each transplant program; and appointing, supervising and developing CTI program directors.

The School of Medicine communications staff sat down with Dr. Niederweis to gain insights about his research, UAB and the science community.

Smita Bhatia, M.D., MPH, professor and vice chair for outcomes in the Department of Pediatrics and director of UAB’s Institute for Cancer Outcomes and Survivorship, has received the Northwestern Mutual Award for Excellence in Childhood Cancer Survivorship from The American Society of Pediatric Oncology/Hematology (ASPHO).
UAB International Medical Education (IME) has designed an engaging training elective in partnership with Chung Shan Medical University (CSMU) in Taiwan that includes all arrangements for flights, daily transportation, on-site support, housing and meals.
On Wednesday, Jan. 30 at noon, Selwyn M Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine, will give the annual State of the School presentation. Please mark your calendars. Lunch will be provided while supplies last.
Three School of Medicine faculty projects were selected for AMC21 2018-2019 Multi-PI Awards. The purpose of these grants is to enable School of Medicine faculty members to organize and integrate multidisciplinary teams of accomplished investigators who will compete successfully for long-term support from funding agencies.
On Friday, Nov. 16, MS1s Kara Kichler, Paris Malensek, Cassidy Baldwin and Steven Cochrun teamed up with MS4 David Osula and Harish Doppalapudi, M.D. to lead a cardiology workshop at George W. Carver High School. The instructional session concluded by teaching the students how to take a blood pressure reading.
Page 5 of 11