July 09, 2013

Lorenz named president of the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists

Written by
Robin-LorenzRobin Lorenz, M.D., Ph.D., assistant dean for Physician-Scientist Education at the UAB School of Medicine, was recently named president of the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists.

Lorenz, a professor in the Department of Pathology and director of the Medical Scientist Training Program, joined the UAB faculty in 2002. She served as the ACLPS president-elect in for the 2012-2013 year.

Founded in 1966, the ACLPS is dedicated to the advancement of teaching and scholarship in clinical pathology and laboratory medicine by encouraging the highest standards for training physicians and scientists in medical schools and residency and postdoctoral programs. The organization also promotes high standards of service, education and research in academic medicine.

Duties for the president include preside at all member meetings and chair the organization’s executive council. Lorenz said her goals for the year include creating a strategic plan that would expand ACLPS involvement in education and training, increase its social media presence and support efforts to create a research track for pathology residents and fellows.

Lorenz was awarded the ACLPS inaugural Ellis Benson Award, honoring a young faculty member in recognition of meritorious accomplishments in laboratory medicine, in 2006.

UAB will host the ACLPS 2016 annual meeting, which is devoted primarily to young investigators and their advancing careers.  C. Bruce Alexander, M.D., vice chair of the Department of Pathology, has also led the ACLPS, serving as its president in 2008-2009.