April 24, 2014

Meador-Woodruff elected to neuropsychopharmacology society council

Written by
james meador woodruff webJames H. Meador-Woodruff, M.D., Heman E. Drummond Professor and Chair of the UAB Department of Psychiatry, was elected by the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) to a three-year term on its council, beginning in December 2014.

 The ACNP, founded in 1961, is the nation's premier professional society in brain, behavior and psychopharmacology research.  The ACNP promotes communication among a broad range of scientific disciplines of brain and behavior in order to increase our understanding of the causes of disorders of the nervous system, and encourage new lines of research addressing the prevention and treatment of psychiatric, neurological, behavioral and addictive disorders. 

Meador-Woodruff was elected to membership in the ACNP in 1995 and was promoted to fellow in 2002.  He served as the Editor in Chief of the ACNP journal Neuropsychopharmacology from 2007 to 2012.