UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

May 18, 2014

SCHOOLWIDE AWARDS

HUGH J. DEMPSEY MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented for the highest academic achievements over the entire four years at UASOM

John Thomas Nelson Jr.

THE LEONARD TOW HUMANISM IN MEDICINE AWARDS

Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation for a student and faculty member

Nicholas Van Wagoner, M.D., Ph.D.

Marielle Christina Baldwin

OUTSTANDING PATIENT COMMUNICATION AWARD

Sponsored by ProAssurance Indemnity

Samuel Edmond Ford

Amanda Dinsmore

MEDICAL ALUMNI ASSOCIATION COMMUNITY/LEADERSHIP AWARD

Samuel Edmond Ford

THE GLASGOW-RUBIN CITATION FOR ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT

Presented by the American Medical Women's Association to recognize female class members graduating in the top ten percent of their class.

Kara Janelle Denby

Anna Michelle Edmiston

Sara Anne Wilkins Lester

Jessica Ann Schmitt

Maya Vankineni

Jacquelyn Winifred Zimmerman

FORMAL ACADEMIC HONORS

John Thomas Nelson Jr., summa cum laude
Jessica Ann Schmitt, summa cum laude
Kent Lane Burton, magna cum laude
Anna Michelle Edmiston, magna cum laude
Richard Minton Feist Jr., magna cum laude
Vedran Oruc, magna cum laude
Maya Vankineni, magna cum laude
Justin Vines, magna cum laude
Sara Anne Wilkins Lester, magna cum laude
Robert Andrew Campbell, cum laude
Kara Janelle Denby, cum laude

Brendan Thomas Eby, cum laude

William Hampton Gray, cum laude

John Larkin Musgrove Jr., cum laude

Stephen Lee Powell, cum laude

James Creswell Simpson, cum laude

Jacquelyn Winifred Zimmerman, cum laude

ALPHA OMEGA ALPHA

A national medical honor society recognizing scholarship and professional qualifications.

Kent Lane Burton
Robert Andrew Campbell
Kara Janelle Denby
Laura Lynne Dover
Brendan Thomas Eby
Anna Michelle Edmiston
Richard Minton Feist Jr.
Samuel Edmond Ford
William Hampton Gray
Kathleen McRee Hamrick
David Jiwoong Kim
John Lynch Lyles
John Larkin Musgrove Jr.
John Thomas Nelson Jr.

Katherine Andrea Orman
Vedran Oruc
Paige Ivey Partain
Stephen Lee Powell
Jessica Ann Schmitt
Thomas Rutherford Sellers
Ashley Corinne Shafferman
James Creswell Simpson
Maxwell Anthony Thompson
Maya Vakineni
Justin Edward Vines
Sara Anne Wilkins Lester
Jacquelyn Winifred Zimmerman

THE GOLD HUMANISM HONOR SOCIETY

Recognizes those students that excel in clinical-care, leadership, professionalism, compassion, patient-care and dedication to service as selected by their peers.

Marielle Christina Baldwin
Robert Andrew Campbell
Kara Janelle Denby
John Michael Doughton
Brendan Thomas Eby
Ian Zahner Flaniken
Samuel Edmond Ford
Gillian Averee Greer
Benjamin Tate Hinkle
Elizabeth Waud Luke
Brian Andrew May
Patrick Kai-Ming McCabe

John Thomas Nelson, Jr
Katherine Andrea Orman
Vedran Oruc
Daniel Kent Partain
Paige Ivey Partain
Thomas Clark Powell
Jessica Ann Schmitt
James Crewell Simpson
Andrew Tyler Smith
Justin Edward Vines
Susan May Wiltrakis

UAB DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS

WILLIAM BOYD MEDAL

PRESENTED BY THE ALABAMA ASSOCIATION OF PATHOLOGISTS

AND THE UAB DEPARTMENT OF PATHOLOGY

Presented for exceptional performance in Pathology

Elizabeth Staley

ROBERT GOODLOE MCGAHEY AWARD

Presented for excellence in Anesthesiology

In memory of Dr. Robert Goodloe McGahey, one of the first physicians to practice anesthesiology in Alabama

Sara Anne Wilkins Lester

WILFRED F. HOLDEFER MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented for excellence in Emergency Medicine

Stephen Lee Powell

ROBERT J. STANLEY AWARD

Presented for excellence in Radiology

Alexander Thomas Smith

LANNING B. KLINE AWARD

Presented for excellence in Ophthalmology

Richard Minton Feist Jr.

CHI-TSOU HUANG AWARD

Presented for excellence in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

In Honor of Chi-Tsou Huang, M.D. for excellence in Clinical Care, Research and Teaching

Daniel Keith Reid

BIRMINGHAM CAMPUS AWARDS

THE DEAN'S AWARD

Presented for superior performance in the clinical curriculum on the Birmingham campus

Robert Andrew Campbell

ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

(In recognition of superior achievement in the clinical curriculum)

Robert Andrew Campbell Kara Janelle Denby Laura Lynne Dover David Jiwoong Kim John Larkin Musgrove, Jr

Katherine Andrea Orman Vedran Oruc James Creswell Simpson Sara Anne Wilkins Lester Jacquelyn Winifred Zimmerman

BATTLE S. SEARCY MEMORIAL AWARD IN PSYCHIATRY

Amanda Leigh Brito

BRUCE A. HARRIS, JR. AWARD IN OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY

David McNease George

SAMUEL CLEMENTS LITTLE AWARD IN NEUROLOGY

Frank Stephen Benesh

GARBER GALBRAITH AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SURGERY

Laura Ansley Allen

G. GAYLE STEPHENS AWARD IN FAMILY MEDICINE

Marielle Christina Baldwin

PAUL A. PALMISANO EXCELLENCE IN PEDIATRICS AWARD

Kara Janelle Denby

TINSLEY R. HARRISON AWARD IN INTERNAL MEDICINE

John Larkin Musgrove, Jr

TINSLEY R. HARRISON MEDICAL STUDENT SOCIETY

A society dedicated to the pursuit of excellence through scholarly exchange and research

Frank Stephen Benesh
Steven Tyler Brown
Robert Andrew Campbell
Kym Ngoc Do
Ian Zahner Flaniken
Thy Nhat Huynh
Joffre Johnson
Patrick Kai-Ming McCabe
Katie Lauren McLemore McQueen

Emily Christian Mills
John Larkin Musgrove, Jr
Vedran Oruc
Nicholas Anthony Piazza
Andrew Landry Sawyer
Kristin Campbell Sawyer
Mallory Ann Scogin
Daniel Isaiah Sullivan
Terrance Matthew Zwick Zimmerman

HUNTSVILLE CAMPUS AWARDS DEAN'S AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

Presented for excellence in the clinical clerkships. Jessica Ann Schmitt

EXEMPLARY ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE

Presented for the 2^{nd} highest in the clinical clerkships.

John Thomas Nelson, Jr

DEAN'S LEADERSHIP AWARD

Presented for excellence and leadership qualities.

Benjamin Tate Hinkle

G. GAYLE STEPHENS AWARD

Presented for excellence in Family Medicine.

Benjamin Tate Hinkle

J. ELLIS SPARKS AWARD

Presented for excellence in Internal Medicine

Maya Vankineni

JOHN Di PLACIDO AWARD

Presented for excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Sara Elizabeth Foppe

JOHN R. MONTGOMERY AWARD

Presented for excellence in Pediatrics

Jessica Ann Schmitt

CHARLES SELAH AWARD

Presented for excellence in Surgery

Thomas Rutherford Sellers

AWARD IN PSYCHIATRY

Presented for excellence in Psychiatry

Maya Vankineni

AWARD IN NEUROLOGY

Presented for excellence in Neurology

Jessica Ann Schmitt

TUSCALOOSA CAMPUS AWARDS

SCHOLASTIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Presented for the top performance in the clinical years

Justin Edward Vines

WILLIAM R. WILLARD DEAN'S AWARD

Presented for outstanding contributions to the goals and missions of the College of Community Health Sciences

Brittney Tenae Anderson

JAMES H. AKERS MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented to the senior who best personifies both the art and the science of the practice of medicine as chosen by their peers

Justin Edward Vines

ROBERT F. GLOOR AWARD

Presented for excellence in Community and Rural Medicine
Paige Ivey Partain

FAMILY MEDICINE AWARD

Presented for excellence in Family Medicine
Brittney Tenae Anderson

WILLIAM W. WINTERNITZ AWARD

Presented for excellence in Internal Medicine

Justin Edward Vines

FINNEY/AKERS MEMORIAL AWARD

Presented for academic in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Justin Edward Vines

PEDIATRIC RECOGNITION AWARD

Presented for excellence in Pediatrics

Brittany Shea Richardson

PEDIATRIC SERVICE AWARD

Presented in recognition for passion in advocacy and service to children in the community Sarah Helen Gammons

PETER BRYCE AWARD

Presented for the excellence in Psychiatry

Katherine Leonard Thrower

WILLIAM R. SHAMBLIN AWARD

Presented for excellence in Surgery

Samuel Edmond Ford

NEUROLOGY AWARD

Presented for excellence in Neurology

Richard Minton Feist Jr.

STUDENT RESEARCH AWARD

Benjamin Todd Raines