November 14, 2016

Two UAB investigators recognized as national leaders in rheumatology research

Written by

mountz singhJohn D. Mountz, M.D., Ph.D., left, and Jasvinder A. Singh, M.D.The American College of Rheumatology presented two professors from the University of Alabama at Birmingham Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology with highly coveted awards at the annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in November.

John D. Mountz, M.D., Ph.D., director of the UAB Rheumatic Diseases Core Center, was named the 2016 ACR Distinguished Basic Investigator, which is awarded to a basic scientist making outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology. Jasvinder A. Singh, M.D., professor of medicine at UAB, was named the 2016 ACR Henry Kunkel Young Investigator, which is awarded to a young physician scientist, age 45 or younger, who has made outstanding and promising independent contributions to basic or clinical research in the field of rheumatology.