Print this page
February 06, 2019

School of Medicine celebrates third annual Diversity Fair

Written by

1.25.19UABSOMDiversityFair DMS 89The School of Medicine’s Office for Diversity and Inclusion hosted its third annual Diversity Fair Jan. 25, 2019 in the atrium of North Pavilion. Hundreds of guests attended and enjoyed wandering among the booths to sample cuisines while listening to the sound of international music.

Each department showcased the food, décor and atmosphere of one or more cultures associated with their staff and faculty. “It is truly a delight to see the effort each department puts into the fair,” said Mona Fouad, M.D., MPH, senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion. “I’m proud to celebrate the wealth of diversity UAB’s School of Medicine has to offer.”

In addition to the creative food offerings from each department, attendees were entertained by the musical stylings of Sol Musica—an international fusion band featuring musicians from locations as distant as Peru and India. Led by band director Arturo La Cruz, Sol Musica played a range of unique songs from around the world as well as American classics.

In the café just off the atrium, three acclaimed slam poets—Michael Harriot, Shaunteka Curry and BeShaun Judah—performed original works. All three poets have achieved either regional or national honors for their writing/performing.

The Diversity Fair provides a unique opportunity for UAB School of Medicine to come together and celebrate both the uniqueness of and commonalities between its students, faculty and staff. Each year, judges circulate through the tables to evaluate each display not only for its food offerings, but also for their creativity and presentation. First, second and third place are awarded with the winning departments receiving gift cards to local eateries. This year’s winners were:

First Place (tie):
Department of Microbiology
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Second Place:
Department of Medicine

Third Place:
Department of Pathology

Tying for 4th place were the following departments—all receiving Honorable Mentions:
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Department of Pediatrics
Department of Surgery