April 30, 2014

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology named Pitkin Award recipient

Written by
ob gyn awardThe University of Alabama at Birmingham’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology has been named the 2014 Roy M. Pitkin Award recipient, recognizing the department’s promotion of and excellence in research that ultimately will improve the health care of women. 

The award is given annually by the editors of Obstetrics and Gynecology and consists of a $5,000 unrestricted grant. The grant is presented to a department whose faculty, fellows or residents published one of the most outstanding articles in Obstetrics and Gynecology during the past year.

Both the authors and the departments are recognized for the quality of the research and the publication of results. The UAB research article recognized was “Surgical Staples Compared With Subcuticular Suture for Skin Closure After Cesarean Delivery: A Randomized Controlled Trial,” which was published in January 2013.

UAB authors for the paper include Dana Figueroa, M.D., Victoria Chapman Jauk, Jeff Szychowski, Ph.D., Rachel Garner, M.D., Joseph Biggio, M.D., William Andrews, M.D., John Hauth, M.D., and Alan Tita, M.D., Ph.D.

Each editor of Obstetrics and Gynecology independently selects articles from all of those published in 2013 as finalists in the competition. A panel of former Editorial Board members then reviews and ranks those articles based on scientific merit, importance to the specialty, study design, methodology, presentation of results, soundness of conclusions and writing style.