Print this page
July 02, 2015

UAB Faculty Development Grant Program awards nearly $100,000 to School of Medicine faculty

Written by
SOM banner smallThe UAB Faculty Development Grant Program has announced its annual faculty grants, awarding $99,991 for full-time School of Medicine faculty projects.

Since 2007 the FDGP, sponsored by the Office of the Provost with matching funding from the faculty member’s department, has awarded more than $800,000 to UAB faculty to support research projects. Funding is based on an actual projected budget submitted with the grant application. A review committee approves the awards, with maximum funding at $10,000.

This year’s awardees from the School of Medicine are:

“Fluorescence-guided surgery in a murine model of soft tissue sarcoma”
Principal investigator: Nicole Kellan Behnke, M.D., assistant professor of Surgery in the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery

“Effects of Exercise on Memory Deficits and Brain Network Connectivity in Epilepsy”
Principal investigator: Jane Allendorfer, Ph.D., associate professor of Neurology

“Characterization of pre-seizure state in Generalized epilepsy-implication in designing a closed-loop neuromodulation therapy”
Principal investigator: Sandipan Pati, M.D., associate professor of Neurology

“Role of mitochondrial function in monocytes during stone disease”
Principal investigator: Tanecia Mitchell. Ph.D., instructor of Urology

“The Role of Intravenous Fluid and Vasoactive Agents Resuscitation in the Development of Early Acute Kidney Dysfunction in a Cohort of Cardiac ICU Patients”
Principal investigator: Ahmed Zaky, M.D., associate professor of Anesthesiology

“Periconception metabolomics”
Principal investigator: Mamie McLean, M.D., associate professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology (Co-I is Lorie M Harper M.D., associate professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology)

“Defining the molecular signature of Friedreich's ataxia to identify novel biomarkers”
Principal investigator: Jill Butler, Ph.D., instructor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

“Characterization of a Therapeutic Mouse Model of Brain Tumors”
Principal investigator: Braden McFarland, Ph.D., instructor of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology

“Biomarkers in Multiple Sclerosis”
Principal investigator: William Meador, M.D., associate professor of Neurology

“Defining the Role of PRMT5 in Glioblastoma Multiforme”
Principal investigator: Xiaosi Han, M.D., associate professor of Neurology