Bennett Page

Bennett Page

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sara Mazzoni, M.D., MPH, associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, has been awarded the 2019 Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine.
The School of Medicine welcomed first-year students with a weeklong orientation July 29-Aug. 2. Various speakers from across the school introduced the 2019 incoming class to the basics of medical school, shared keys to academic success, and facilitated activities to help them build relationships with their future classmates and colleagues throughout the week.

To pay tribute to Stephen G. Rostand, M.D.—a renowned investigator, longtime faculty member, and esteemed leader—the Division of Nephrology has renamed an existing endowed professorship to the Stephen G. Rostand, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Nephrology.

The New Neighbors League Club (NNLC) of Birmingham gave a $4,000 gift to the Alzheimer’s Research Program led by Jeremy Herskowitz, Ph.D., assistant professor in the UAB Department of Neurology. 

Sydney Mohr, MS3, was recently awarded the 2019 Sara Crews Finley, M.D., Leadership Scholarship, which provides full tuition for the third year of medical school and is renewable for the fourth year.

Equal Access Birmingham (EAB) will host its sixth annual Heart + Sole 5K run at Crestline Elementary School Aug. 24 to raise funds for the School of Medicine’s free health care clinic, which provides health care to underserved and uninsured populations in Birmingham and the greater Birmingham area.

The fifth annual NIH Cardiovascular Bioengineering (CVBE) Symposium was held in Sydney, Australia March 1-2, 2019.

Created by the Office for Diversity and Inclusion, The Common Thread is an online toolkit designed to challenge, engage and stimulate self-inquiry in order to facilitate greater inclusivity and understanding.

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) recently announced Jessica Scoffield, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Department of Microbiology, as the first ever recipient of the AADR Procter & Gamble Underrepresented Faculty Research Fellowship.

UAB Graduate Medical Education welcomed 189 new residents and fellows Wednesday, June 19, during an orientation session in the West Pavilion Atrium.

Page 1 of 2